Friction, gravity, surface tension, magnetism, inertia, resistence?
Energy Lab for Kids by
Energy Lab for Kids offers 40 discovery-filled and thought-provoking energy projects by Emily Hawbaker, a science educator from the NEED (National Energy Education Development) project--with a foreword by Liz Lee Heinecke, author of Kitchen Science Lab for Kids. Using supplies that you can find around the house or in the grocery store, these exciting projects let you observe, explore, discover, and get energized! We hear about energy on the news, we use it every day, and sometimes we're told we have too much of it. But what is energy--potential, kinetic, chemical, radiant, and thermal? The lab activities in this book will let you explore almost everything about energy--what it is, how we find it, how we use it, and how we can save it. Uniting this collection of science experiments for the kitchen, backyard, or classroom is the goal to explore and discover real energy solutions. The chapters cross all categories--from steam, electricity, and chemical reactions, to water, solar, and wind power--allowing kids to compare and test the different sources and to discover their strengths and failings. Why is one source of energy is more efficient for a one situation but not for another? Why might two energy sources combined work better than a single source? Which sources are renewable? Projects are geared to understanding actual issues in the news today. With an emphasis on inventive exploration, you'll discover that creativity leads to breakthroughs. Learn about: chemical, radiant, and thermal energy by activating a glow stick and watching it get brighter in hot water. viscosity by sucking soda and chocolate syrup up an "oil pipeline" made from straws. solar energy by melting s'mores in a pizza box solar oven. wind power by lifting paperclips with a wind turbine made from a cup, paper, tape, and straw. calories by burning cheese puffs (and other food) in a homemade calorimeter. The popular Lab for Kids series features a growing list of books that share hands-on activities and projects on a wide host of topics, including art, astronomy, clay, geology, math, and even how to create your own circus--all authored by established experts in their fields. Each lab contains a complete materials list, clear step-by-step photographs of the process, as well as finished samples. The labs can be used as singular projects or as part of a yearlong curriculum of experiential learning. The activities are open-ended, designed to be explored over and over, often with different results. Geared toward being taught or guided by adults, they are enriching for a range of ages and skill levels. Gain firsthand knowledge on your favorite topic with Lab for Kids.
Experiment with Outdoor Science by
Science isn't limited to the classroom – it can be found out in the garden! This photographic book of experiments and projects covers covers chemical reactions, states of matter, microbiology and much more – all with materials and equipment that can be found at home. The STEAM Ahead series shows readers that science isn't limited to the classroom – it can be found out in the garden, cooked up in the kitchen and brought to life with paper and paints! Each book features clear, step-by-step instructions and has a fresh, contemporary design, with an emphasis on fun, achievable experiments to give kids hands-on experiences. The science behind each experiment is explained, giving readers the theory behind the practical activities.
Explore Flight! by
Who invented the airplane? When were airplanes invented? And why do planes have wings if the wings don't flap? Kids can answer these questions and more by jumping into the cockpit and soaring into Explore Flight! With 25 Great Projects, where they'll learn about the history of our human obsession to conquer the feat of flying. For kids ages 6-9,Explore Flight! With 25 Great Projects introduces them to the dreamers, inventors, aviation pioneers, and record breakers. They will read about the myths and legends of flying and about the wondrous flying machines of the past, present and future. They will learn that in the 15th century Leonardo da Vinci drew sketches of airplanes, helicopters and other flying machines, and that the first passengers in a hot air balloon were a sheep, a rooster, and a duck. Along the way, they will develop a better understanding of the rich history of aviation, investigate what causes flight, and learn about the science of aerodynamics. Projects and experiments range from making a paper airplane to building an airfoil. All the projects in this book are easy to follow, require little adult supervision, and use commonly found household products, many from the recycling.
Fairground Physics by
Head to the fair to learn about physics with cool trivia facts, hands-on science activities, and lots of accessible science! Where can you experience the laws of motion, the fun of physics, and the chemistry of cotton candy? The fair! In Fairground Physics: Motion, Momentum, and Magnets with Hands-On Science Activities, readers ages 9 to 12 learn about the forces that rule our world and everything in it by examining the rides, games, and even food you might find at a county fair. Ride the carousel and discover centripetal force. Throw darts at a balloon and learn about projectile science. Hop on a roller coaster and name the types of energy involved in whizzing you around the track and upside down! Fun at the fair extends into real-life, hands-on learning that kids will keep front of mind even as they swing through the air and guzzle down some funnel cakes. This book is full of text-to-self and text-to-world connections! * Real world science is a great way to engage kids with learning about science, and it doesn't get much more real than at a fairground. By using examples that most kids have experienced, Fairground Physics both captures the imagination and provides a foundation of reality on which to base explanations of complex scientific concepts. * Force, motion, and gravity affect everyone whether we take notice or not, and understanding how the laws of physics work is an essential part of understanding the physical underpinnings of our very existence. * Fairground Physics engages readers through hands-on activities, such as designing a roller coaster and making ice cream, along with interesting trivia, fascinating sidebars, and links to online material that supports and supplements learning. About the Build It Science set and Nomad Press Fairground Physics is part of a set of four Build It Science books that explore accessible science. The other titles in this set are Climate Change, Backyard Biology, and Kitchen Chemistry. Nomad Press books in the Build It series integrate content with participation. Combining content with inquiry-based projects stimulates learning and makes it active and alive. Nomad's unique approach simultaneously grounds kids in factual knowledge while allowing them the space to be curious, creative, and critical thinkers. All books are leveled for Guided Reading level and Lexile and align with Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards. All titles are available in paperback, hardcover, and ebook formats.
Forces and Motion Investigations by
Forces and motion are at work all around you--when you kick a ball, ride a bike, or drop a book. But what exactly are forces? And how do they make things move? For thousands of years, scientists have been testing hypotheses about forces and motion and learning from the results of their experiments. These lead to more questions: Why do you speed up when you're biking down a hill? Why are heavier objects harder to pull? Why doesn't the moon float off into space? The answers may surprise you! Find out how forces and motion are at play with everything on Earth and beyond.
Fun Experiments with Forces and Motion by
Make a rocket from a plastic bottle, a hovercraft from a balloon, and a drag racer from cardboard! These amazing science projects use readily available items and have simple step-by-step instructions. Discover the science behind each experiment. They're quick to make and fun to show your friends and family. They bounce, they fly, they push, they whirl--they're forces and motion!
Projectile Science by
What are the forces behind ballistics? Why do rocks and rockets soar through the air in an arch? The game is on the line. Suddenly, you hear the crack of a bat and the roar of crowd. Where will the ball land? How far will it travel? Is it a home run? You might think that hitting a home run or nailing a three-pointer is just luck, but there are many forces at work that determine if you've made a game-winning shot or the final out. If you've ever kicked a ball, thrown a rock, or even played Angry Birds, you've experimented with the forces behind ballistics. InProjectile Science: The Physics Behind Kicking a Field Goal and Launching a Rocket with Science Activities for Kids, kids ages 10 to 15 learn why projectiles follow the paths they do and what factors influence those paths. Readers who are fascinated with potato cannons, slingshots, and rocketry will love taking that next step and applying what they learn about the laws of physics to the science of figuring out where to aim. Math is the language you use to understand the science of ballistics. In this book, readers will learn about the forces that act on the projectiles and how to calculate those forces to make educated predictions about where their homemade rockets and other projectiles will land. Safe, hands-on STEM activities using materials that are easy to acquire are a terrific way to foster real-life learning about ballistics. Kids will perform Galileo's famous test for gravity, create clinometers to measure height and distance, and build a machine that can throw curve balls. Essential questions that promote critical examination of the science, primary sources, online videos, and science-minded engineering activities let readers have a blast learning about the physics of ballistics!
Science Experiments with Gravity and Motion by
Make science simple! This book features easy and fun Science Experiments with Gravity & Motion using household items. Young readers can assemble experiments at home from an Unbelievable Balancing Act to Very Peculiar Pendulums. No laboratory needed! Each activity includes easy instructions with how-to photos, and short science explanations. Use fun to introduce math and science to kids. Super simple says it all. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Super Sandcastle is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Science Experiments with Magnets by
Make science simple! This book features easy and fun Science Experiments with Magnets using household items. Young readers can assemble experiments at home from a Cool Water Compass to Magic Floating Magnets. No laboratory needed! Each activity includes easy instructions with how-to photos, and short science explanations. Use fun to introduce math and science to kids. Super simple says it all. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Super Sandcastle is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
SUPER Science Experiments: Build It by
With more than 80 fun experiments, SUPER Science Experiments: Build It is the ultimate lab book for kids who want to build cool stuff! This fact- and fun-filled book includes tons of simple, kid-tested science experiments, many of which can be done with items from around the house, and require little to no supervision! That's right--no adult help needed. That means no grown-ups doing all the fun stuff while you watch. You can do lots of messy, cool, mind-blowing experiments all by yourself! All the supplies you need are probably already in your home. No fancy gadgets or doohickeys needed! Whether you want to build your own catapult, lava lamp, rocket, or even a light bulb, this book has something for everyone. Each experiment features safety precautions, materials needed, step-by-step instructions with illustrations, fun facts, and further explorations. With SUPER Science Experiments: Build It, kid scientists like you can: Make a chair with newspapers Erupt a ketchup volcano Send a rocket into the air with the stomp of your foot See which direction you're facing with a homemade compass Race little cars made from toilet paper tubes Build an electromagnetic motor And complete many other SUPER science experiments! At once engaging, encouraging, and inspiring, the SUPER Science Experiments series provides budding scientists with go-to, hands-on guides for learning the fundamentals of science and exploring the fascinating world around them. Also in this series, check out: Cool Creations, At Home, and Outdoor Fun. There's no better boredom-buster than a science experiment. You will learn something and astound and amaze your friends and family. So, what are you waiting for? Get experimenting!
SUPER Science Experiments: Outdoor Fun by
With more than 80 fun experiments, SUPER Science Experiments: Outdoor Fun is the ultimate lab book for kids who love nature and the outdoors! This fact- and fun-filled book includes tons of simple, kid-tested science experiments, many of which can be done with items from around the house, and require little to no supervision! That's right--no adult help needed. That means no grown-ups doing all the fun stuff while you watch. You can do lots of messy, cool, mind-blowing experiments all by yourself! All the supplies you need are probably already in your home. No fancy gadgets or doohickeys needed! Whether you're building your own bird or butterfly feeders, thermometer, or air horn, this book has something for everyone. Each experiment features safety precautions, materials needed, step-by-step instructions with illustrations, fun facts, and further explorations. With SUPER Science Experiments: Outdoor Fun,kid scientists like you can: Look at underwater critters without getting your face wet Build a home for bees Measure rainfall and wind speed Create an ecosystem in a bottle Make a worm hotel Trap a cloud And complete many other SUPER science experiments! At once engaging, encouraging, and inspiring, the SUPER Science Experiments series provides budding scientists with go-to, hands-on guides for learning the fundamentals of science and exploring the fascinating world around them. Also in this series, check out: Cool Creations, Build It, and At Home. There's no better boredom-buster than a science experiment. You will learn something and astound and amaze your friends and family. So, what are you waiting for? Get experimenting!
Super Simple Experiments with Forces by
Super Simple Experiments with Forcesgives young readers the tools they need to start experimenting.Budding scientists will learn to lift rice with friction, move a mini boat with surface tension, and more! Each project has easy‑to‑read directions paired with step‑by‑step photographs, while colorful graphics describe the super science at work.Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Applied to STEM Concepts of Learning Principles. Super Sandcastle is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Super Simple Things to Do with Pressure by
The science projects in Super Simple Things to Do with Pressure: Fun and Easy Science for Kids are easy and fun! Young readers can find the common household elements around the house and then complete the projects at home. No laboratory required! Each simple activity includes how-to photos, easy instructions, and short explanations. Readers will be thinking like scientists in no time! Besides adhering to science standards, this title also includes beginning math principles. For those familiar with the Checkerboard Cool series, this is the "Cool junior" series. Super simple says it all! Super Sandcastle is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Try This! by
Discover what makes science fun in this engaging book, filled with weird, wacky science facts, basic principles, and 50 creative science projects that take interactivity to a whole new level. Dynamic photos and art highlight projects step by step so kids can conduct experiments with confidence and accuracy. Most projects involve kid-friendly subjects like electrical charges, chemical explosions, and food chemistry and are based on materials easily found at home. Bonus projects throughout encourage curious kids to dig deeper and experiment on their own.
Experiments with Energy by
Energy comes in many forms--including sound, heat, electricity, and light--and is perpetually at work all around us. As the inquisitive scientists in this book, readers will come to recognize some key characteristics of energy. Measuring the speed of sound, investigating reflection and refraction, and examining static electricity are a few of the experiments young scientists will undertake, with the help of boxed instructions and bright illustrations. All activities, as well as their underlying principles, are carefully explained. These essential STEM-based activities are a must for any science collection.
Recreate Discoveries about Forces by
Build a model hovercraft like engineer Christopher Cockerell did, or a sculpture that moves in the breeze like artist Lin Emery. This title gives readers both an understanding of the properties of light and the skills to investigate great discoveries and works. Exciting and easy-to-understand experiments encourage budding scientists, inventors, engineers, and artists to stand on the shoulders of the curious and creative people who came before them.
Experiments with Forces by
Read and Experiment is an engaging series, introducing children to scientific concepts. Explore the world of forces with clear text, real-world examples and fun, safe step-by-step experiments. This book brings the science of forces to life, explaining the concepts and encouraging children to be hands-on scientists.
In Motion: 10 Fun Experiments Exploring Forces by
What are forces? These are the pushes and pulls on something that come from the world around them. Gravity, friction, lift, and drag are all forces explored in this title presented by Scientific American. Young scientists have a chance to test centripetal force using marbles, make a paper rocket, and examine how a hovercraft hovers, among other questions and ideas, in curriculum-supporting experiments and activities. Each includes a Background section that explains the scientific concept explored in the project as well as clear instructions on how to do it. Science fair ideas are included as well as an explanation of the scientific method.
Push and Pull: 10 Fun Experiments with Forces by
Do you want to make the best paper airplane? Or perhaps centripetal force and the idea that water can defy gravity excites you! This is the book for curious young physicists, ready to learn more about the world around them. Each of the 10 projects includes a Background section to explain the science topic at work, materials, clear step-by-step instructions, and an Observations section walking readers through the results they likely saw. Several projects include science fair ideas and expanded versions of the experiment to engage readers further. A discussion of the scientific method and helpful glossary conclude the book.
Fantastic Experiments with Forces by
Even reluctant readers will be pulled into these engaging experiments about force! Cool activities, like constructing different types of ping-pong catapults, make science concepts both tangible and fun. Enthusiastic readers will love trying recommended additional twists to activities. They'll learn amazing real-life examples of the same forces they are studying at home, such as how tightrope walkers use poles to keep their mass over their center of gravity. Easy-to-understand language explains the forces at play and answers curious readers' questions, while step-by-step instructions and photographs make activities accessible. Helpful tips ensure they safely conduct experiments with ease.
Experiments with Forces by
Genuine scientists test their theories through experiments, using the results to uncover truly amazing discoveries. In this beneficial STEM-based book, readers are the scientists diving into experiments about forces such as gravity, friction, and magnetism. They'll use easy-to-find materials such as balloons, erasers, and rulers to perform step-by-step experiments, learning more about forces at work in the world all around them. A summary of each carefully illustrated experiment reviews what the result conveys about the concept, while extra activities encourage more experimentation, an attribute of every great scientist!
Janice VanCleave's Wild, Wacky, and Weird Physics Experiments by
In a series of fun and involving hands-on physics experiments, kids charge an object with static electricity, demonstrate how static charges produce sound, use magnetic force to suspend a paper airplane, determine that objects in water have a different weight than they do in air, and learn how a substance's buoyancy can be changed. They will also determine if shape determines the strength of an object, learn the effect that an object's center of gravity has on motion, demonstrate how the length of a pendulum affects the time of each swing, and discover how the center of gravity is also the balancing point of an object. Featuring color illustrations and safe, simple step-by-step instructions, Janice VanCleave again shows just how much fun science can be.
Science Experiments to Blow Your Mind by
Hold on to your lab goggles and get ready for Science Experiments to Blow Your Mind!From microwave soap monsters to make-your-own lava lamps, this book is bursting with brilliant experiments that will teach you everything you need to know about the appliance of science. All of the projects can easily be performed at home, and clear instructions are accompanied by entertaining images and informative text. It's the perfect how-to guide for young scientists aged 8 and up!The easy-to-follow instructions and engaging text are illustrated with clear step-by-step diagrams and exciting photographs. The experiments cover curriculum topics--such as forces, photosynthesis and electricity--and help to reinforce school learning. All of the experiments use readily available household items and are easy and safe to carry out at home.
Experiments with Electricity and Magnetism by
Through clear instructions and scientific illustrations, students can conduct easy yet engaging experiments to examine the principles of electricity and magnetism. Using easy-to-obtain household materials, readers will make a battery from electric cells, test objects to see if they are conductors or insulators, and build a simple electric motor. Readers are guided through applying the scientific method to gain a better understanding of the basic concepts demonstrated by each experiment. Safety tips educate students on the code of conduct expected when conducting experiments.
Electricity and Magnetism Experiments Using Batteries, Bulbs, Wires, and More by
Down to the wire? Do your readers wait until the last minute to start their science project? Don't worry, award-winning author Robert Gardner has everyone covered. Each experiment in this book follows the scientific method, and can be completed in an hour or less. Readers find out how to make different circuits, an electromagnet, and a simple electric motor. Most experiments also include ideas for science fair projects, in case readers have more time than they originally thought.
Electricity and Magnets by
With electronic devices in nearly every home, electrical and magnetic currents are a common part of everyday life. Understanding how these concepts work in a safe and practical way is an important part of every young scientist's journey. Through this volume's simple, hands-on experiments, young scientists will get a good look at both in action, encouraging their understanding of these complex forces. With experiments on static electricity and magnetic attraction, young readers will dive right into the step-by-step instructions while learning important scientific lessons.
Excellent Experiments with Electricity and Magnetism by
Ever wonder how astronauts are able to breathe a continuous supply of oxygen in space? This hands-on approach to electricity and magnetism lets readers conduct experiments to answer this and other fascinating questions! Readers will love learning that the scientific principles they're applying at home have real-world applications. For example, they'll rock out on their own "electric drums" while learning about technological advances in professional instruments. Simple step-by-step instructions accompanied by detailed photographs make each activity accessible, while handy tips ensure readers' safety and fun. Budding scientists will enjoy exploring the recommended twists and additions to experiments.
Investigating Magnetism by
You know that magnets hold pictures on a refrigerator. But have you ever found a magnet's north pole? Or turned an ordinary paper clip into a magnet? Now you can! Explore magnetism with the fun experiments you'll find in this book. As part of the Searchlight Books(tm) collection, this series sheds light on a key science question―How Does Energy Work? Hands-on experiments, interesting photos, and useful diagrams will help you find the answer!