The Chemistry of Food by
A fun way for middle schoolers to learn about chemistry--through food! Includes hands-on science projects and graphic novel type illustrations. Why does tomato sauce taste different from fresh tomatoes? Why does pasta go limp when you cook it in boiling water? What makes ice cream melt? In The Chemistry of Food, middle school readers learn the science behind the food they love to eat as they explore the chemistry within the meal, how nutrition works, what creates flavor, and why texture is important. What better place to learn the fundamentals of chemistry than in the kitchen? This book offers detailed explanations of five ways chemistry is part of the food they eat. Hands-on, science-minded investigations, links to online resources and media, career connections, and text-to-world questions all create a delicious learning experience for ages 12 to 15. Plus recipes!
Experiment with Kitchen Science by
Science isn't limited to the classroom—it can be cooked up in the kitchen! This photographic book of experiments and projects covers covers chemical reactions, states of matter, microbiology, and much more– all with ingredients and equipment that can be found in the kitchen. The STEAM Ahead series shows readers that science isn't limited to the classroom—it can be found out in the garden, cooked up in the kitchen, and brought to life with paper and paints! Each book features clear, step-by-step instructions and has a fresh, contemporary design, with an emphasis on fun, achievable experiments to give kids hands-on experiences. The science behind each experiment is explained, giving readers the theory behind the practical activities.
Hack Your Kitchen by
You have a science lab in your own home-your kitchen Young scientists will learn all about many different scientific principles and properties using everyday tools and ingredients from their own kitchens! Step-by-step instructions and detailed photos help you learn how to make a lemon volcano, craft your own rock candy, build a superlong straw, and more with these hands-on science projects.
Kitchen Chemistry by
Bring chemistry to your kitchen with a book that offers hands-on science activities that can be done with ingredients from your pantry and the refrigerator! What's going on when you cook in the kitchen? Science! In Kitchen Chemistry: Cool Crystals, Rockin' Reactions, and Magical Mixtures with Hands-On Science Activities, readers ages 9 to 12 discover that the cooking, mixing, and measuring you do in the kitchen all has its roots deep in science--chemistry to be exact! Starting with an exploration of atoms and molecules and how they make up the world, Kitchen Chemistry goes on to discuss mixtures, reactions, states of matter, solutions, and more! By using familiar scenarios such as boiling water, baking cookies, and creating slime, kids make text-to-text, text-to-self, and text-to-world connections that deepen their understanding of the world around us and the connection to chemistry to be found in every area of life.This title has been revised and updated to reflect 2020 educational standards and incorporate new scientific discoveries! * Kitchen Chemistry brings science to life in ways kids find easy to replicate and fascinating to accomplish. * Hands-on projects and experiments, such as making an Alka-Seltzer rocket, building a foamy volcano, and creating crystals, reinforce learning and enhance critical and creative thinking skills. * Essential questions, cool trivia, and links to online primary sources all add up to an inspired time in the kitchen learning chemistry! About the Build It Science set and Nomad Press Kitchen Chemistry is part of a set of four Build It Science books that explore accessible science. The other titles in this set are Climate Change, Backyard Biology, and Fairground Physics. Nomad Press books in the Build It series integrate content with participation. Combining content with inquiry-based projects stimulates learning and makes it active and alive. Nomad's unique approach simultaneously grounds kids in factual knowledge while allowing them the space to be curious, creative, and critical thinkers. All books are leveled for Guided Reading level and Lexile and align with Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards. All titles are available in paperback, hardcover, and ebook formats.
The Kitchen Pantry Scientist Physics for Kids by
Aspiring young physicists will discover an amazing group of inspiring scientists and memorable experiments in Physics for Kids, the third book of The Kitchen Pantry Scientist series. Make a water rocket and engineer the perfect paper airplane. Play with mirror images. Use atmospheric pressure to push an egg into a bottle. Crush a mint to create a flash of light. This engaging guide offers a series of snapshots of 25 scientists famous for their work with physics, from ancient history through today. Each lab tells the illustrated story of a scientist along with some background about the importance of their work, and a description of where it is still being used or reflected in today's world. A step-by-step experiment paired with each story offers kids a hands-on opportunity for exploring concepts the scientists pursued, or are working on today. Experiments range from very simple projects using materials you probably already have on hand, to more complicated ones that may require a few inexpensive items you can purchase online. Just a few of the incredible people and scientific concepts you'll explore: Galileo (b. 1564) Play with pendulums Sir Isaac Newton (b. 1642) Center of gravity balancing trick Albert Einstein (b. 1879) Playground ball relativity Stephen Hawking (b. 1942) Collapsing stars and black holes Christine Darden (b. 1942) Engineer a perfect paper airplane With this fascinating, hands-on exploration of the history of physics, inspire the next generation of great scientists. Dig into even more incredible science history from The Kitchen Pantry Scientist series with: Chemistry for Kids, Biology for Kids, Math for Kids, and Ecology for Kids.
Little Learning Labs: Kitchen Science for Kids, Abridged Paperback Edition by
Cook up some science at home with Little Learning Labs: Kitchen Science for Kids. Conduct physics, chemistry, and biology experiments with tools and ingredients found in any kitchen. The home provides an environment for freedom, creativity and invention--all important elements for great science. And you would never have guessed that science can be as easy as baking. It's simple, inexpensive, and fun to whip up amazing science experiments like straw rockets, green slime, and paper bag volcanoes using everyday ingredients. In this abridged, paperback edition of Kitchen Science Lab for Kids, Little Learning Labs: Kitchen Science for Kids offers 26 fun science activities for families to do together. The experiments can be used as individual projects, for parties, or as educational activities for groups (perfect for Girl Scout Brownies looking to earn their Home Scientist badges). Many of the experiments are both safe enough for children as young as toddlers and exciting for older kids--fun for the whole family! The popular Little Learning Labs series (based on the larger format Lab for Kids series) features a growing list of books that share hands-on activities and projects on a wide host of topics, including art, astronomy, geology, math, and even bugs--all authored by established experts in their fields. Each lab contains a complete materials list, clear step-by-step photographs of the process, as well as finished samples. The activities are open-ended, designed to be explored over and over, often with different results. Geared toward being taught or guided by adults, they are enriching for a range of ages and skill levels. Gain firsthand knowledge on your favorite topic with Little Learning Labs.
Science Experiments with Food by
Make science simple! This book features easy and fun Science Experiments with Food using household items. Young readers can assemble experiments at home from a Lemon-Powered Lightbulb to Disco Dancing Spaghetti. No laboratory needed! Each activity includes easy instructions with how-to photos, and short science explanations. Use fun to introduce math and science to kids. Super simple says it all. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Super Sandcastle is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
SUPER Science Experiments: at Home by
With more than 80 fun experiments, SUPER Science Experiments: At Home is the ultimate lab book for kids who are stuck at home! This fact- and fun-filled book includes tons of simple, kid-tested science experiments, many of which can be done with items found around the house, and require little to no supervision! That's right--no adult help needed. That means no grown-ups doing all the fun stuff while you watch. You can do lots of messy, cool, mind-blowing experiments all by yourself! All the supplies you need are probably already in your home. No fancy gadgets or doohickeys needed! Whether you're making a soap-powered boat, creating indoor rainbows, or performing magic (science!) tricks, this book has something for everyone. Each experiment features safety precautions, materials needed, step-by-step instructions with illustrations, fun facts, and further explorations. With SUPER Science Experiments: At Home, kid scientists like you can: Trick your taste buds Use yeast to blow up balloons Freeze hot water faster than cold water Build a water wheel Make things disappear Create a kaleidoscope And complete many other SUPER science experiments! At once engaging, encouraging, and inspiring, the SUPER Science Experiments series provides budding scientists with go-to, hands-on guides for learning the fundamentals of science and exploring the fascinating world around them. Also in this series, check out: Cool Creations, Build It, and Outdoor Fun. There's no better boredom-buster than a science experiment. You will learn something and astound and amaze your friends and family. So, what are you waiting for? Get experimenting!
Amazing Kitchen Chemistry Projects by
In Amazing Kitchen Chemistry Projects You Can Build Yourself, kids ages 9 and up will experiment with kitchen materials to discover chemistry. Readers will learn about atoms, molecules, solids, liquids, gases, polymers, the periodic table, the important history of science, and much more. Along the way, they'll make goop, cause chemical reactions, and create delicious treats, and all of it will illustrate important chemistry concepts. Amazing Kitchen Chemistry Projects is a fun and exciting way for young readers to learn all about chemistry and become scientists right in the kitchen.
Kate the Chemist: the Awesome Book of Edible Experiments for Kids by
25 incredible--and EDIBLE--science experiments to get kids excited about science! Did you know that all cooking is really chemistry? And that chocolate chip cookies will look--and taste--completely different if you swap out baking powder for baking soda? Or swap out brown sugar for white sugar? In this cookbook packed with 25 edible science experiment recipes kids can do in their own kitchen, chemistry professor and science entertainer Kate the Chemist introduces young scientists to the fascinating world of STEM--and cooking! Kids can make their own: Chocolate-covered pretzels Rainbow pasta Ice cream Pretzel bites and more! Each recipe includes step-by-step instructions, an ingredients list, full-color photographs, a messiness factor rating, and a note from Kate explaining the science behind each delicious treat.
Junk Drawer Chemistry by
There's no need for expensive, high-tech lab equipment to conduct chemistry experiments--you probably have all you need in your home junk drawer. Turn an old LED flashlight into an Energy Drink Tester using aluminum foil and electrical tape. Mix cornstarch and water to make Non-Newtonian Goo. Use a 9-volt battery and thumbtacks to break water molecules into hydrogen and oxygen. Create edible Sweet Crystals from a saturated sugar solution. Or construct your own Three-Penny Battery from galvanized washers, pennies, vinegar, and scrap cardboard. Here are more than 50 great hands-on experiments that can be performed for just pennies . . . or less. Each project has a materials list, detailed step-by-step instructions with illustrations, and a brief explanation of the scientific principle being demonstrated--atoms, compounds, solutions, mixtures, reactions, thermodynamics, acids and bases, and more.
Cave Crystals Kitchen Experiment by
Engage readers with simple step-by-step instructions to create cave crystals right in their kitchen. Readers are introduced to basic science concepts such as saturation, solutions, and atoms. Additional features include a table of contents, informative sidebars and captions, a phonetic glossary, an index, information about the author, and sources for further research. A kid-friendly science experiment inspires observation and hands-on fun.
Food Physics by
Kitchens can not only be a source of culinary inspiration, but also scientific discovery! Readers will learn how some of their favorite foods and recipes connect to important scientific concepts through the ten hands-on experiments featured in this engaging title. Step-by-step instructions enhanced with vivid illustrations guide readers through activities involving everything from making pepper "dance" to baking ice cream and crafting the perfect macaroni and cheese sauce. Explanatory text then reveals how these fun culinary activities involve vital scientific disciplines such as physics and chemistry.
10-Minute Kitchen Science Projects by
Looking for quick and easy science projects for your makerspace? Look no further! From mini rockets and rainbows to ice cream and invisible ink, these amazing 10-minute kitchen science projects will have kids making in no time!
Ice Cream Kitchen Experiment by
Engage readers with simple step-by-step instructions to create ice cream without a machine! Readers are introduced to basic science concepts such as atoms and molecules, freezing points, and dissolution. Additional features include a table of contents, informative sidebars and captions, a phonetic glossary, an index, information about the author, and sources for further research. A kid-friendly science experiment inspires observation and hands-on fun.
Science in the Kitchen: 10 Fun Projects Using Food by
Combine fun in the kitchen with science in this book of 10 experiments and projects. From making pastry to understanding sweet and sour, the projects take on science topics readers encounter in their own homes! Each experiment includes a Background section to explain the science topic at work, a list of materials, clear step-by-step instructions, and an Observations section to help young scientists understand what they've done. Several projects include science fair ideas and expanded versions of the experiment to engage readers further. A discussion of the scientific method and helpful glossary conclude the book.
Cup and Saucer Chemistry by
A great way to get youngsters excited about chemistry, this book features 38 safe experiments for youngsters seven and up. All you need to perform these fun and fascinating exercises are common household items: aspirin, paper towels, vinegar, and more. And each experiment features simple, illustrated instructions.
Janice VanCleave's Crazy, Kooky, and Quirky Chemistry Experiments by
Soap scum, brown bananas, clumping milk, and swollen gummi bears are a few of the crazy, kooky, and quirky components of these chemistry experiments from renowned educator Janice VanCleave. Readers will be fascinated by all the principles of chemistry they can learn about by using items they have at home, including hydration, oxidation, expansion, viscosity, and more. Following safe, simple step-by-step instructions, students will have a blast performing each of these twenty-four experiments and gain real, demonstrable knowledge in the field of chemistry.