Learn all about User Experience Design (UX Design) with Treehouse. Courses, workshops, and practice opportunities will teach you what it is, how to create solid designs, and even provide lessons on making your design accessible. The courses are primarily beginner level with a few intermediate options available.
101 UX Principles by
Publisher's note: This edition from 2018 is outdated and doesn't make use of the most recent UX best-practices. A new 2nd edition, updated for latest use cases and examples, has now been published. Book Description We want our UX to be brilliant. We want to create stunning user experiences. We want our UX to drive the success of our business with useful and usable software products. This book draws on the wisdom and training of Jakob Nielsen and Don Norman to help you get your UX right - in 101 ways! 101 UX Principles shows you the 101 most important things you need to know about usability and design. A practical reference for UX professionals, and a shortcut to greatness for anyone who needs a clear and wise selection of principles to guide their UX success. Learn the key principles that drive brilliant UX design. Enjoy 101 Principles including 'Good UX has a Beginning, a Middle, and an End', 'Make Your Links Look Like Links', 'Don't Use Obsolete Icons', 'Decide Whether an Interaction Should Be Obvious, Easy, or Possible', 'Test with Real Users', 'Making the most of fonts', 'Good UX for search results', and 'Show your user - don't tell your user!' "Good to read from beginning to end, and a nice dip-in-and-out text, the chapter titles reminded me of principles I don't even think about explicitly when I likely should. The book inspired me to start more explicitly articulating some of the principles I just take for granted." - Elizabeth Churchill, Director of User Experience at Google "This is a great practical read. It is convenient to use as a reference when solving real UX problems. I would definitely recommend it as an introduction to UX, but also as a good reminder of best practices for more experienced designers." - Anne-Marie Léger, Designer at Shopify Some more of the 101 UX Principles featured in this book: Work with user expectations not against them How to build upon established metaphors How to arrange navigation elements How to introduce new ideas to your user Matching pagination and content structure When invention is not good for UX Striving for simplicity Reducing user tasks What to make clickable Making the most of fonts Making your links look like links Picking the right control for the job Data input and what users care about How to handle destructive user actions When color should not convey information Tappable areas and the size of fingers Getting payment details the right way Use the standard e-commerce pattern If you really must use a flat design When to use progress bars or spinners Dropdowns the right and wrong way Handling just-off-screen content How to do Hamburger menus right When to hide Advanced Settings Good UX for Notifications
UX: Essential Tools by
This book outlines the best tools available for UX professionals today. Covering prototyping, wireframing, mind mapping and design handoff tools, you'll discover everything a modern UX professionals needs.
UX: Tales From the Trenches by
This book is a collection of hard-won lessons from UX experts, gained from many years of working in the field. It contains: How Analytics Helped Solve a UX Issue by Luke HayUsing Prototyping Tools to Define Better Weather Icons for Everyone by Dan GoodwinHow User Research Turned a Good App into a Great One by Jodie MouleAccessibility and Inclusive Design: Why The're Not the Same by Derek FeatherstoneExposing the Real Cause of Most UX Issues by Joe Natoli
What good are programming skills if your app design isn't functional? Learn all about UX with LinkedIn Learning's learning paths and individual courses. Enroll learning paths like "Improve Your UX Design Skills" or "AI Essentials for User Experience Designers," or try one of many individual courses such as "UX Foundations: Interaction Design" or "Design Psychology: Master the Art and Science of UX Design."
Mastering UX Design with Effective Prototyping: Turn your ideas into reality with UX prototyping by
The ultimate guide to prototyping for UX design mastery KEY FEATURES ● Utilize interactive prototypes and animations to bring design concepts to life.● Embrace rapid iteration and testing for a smooth and efficient design journey.● Prioritize users' needs, preferences, and behaviors, and gather valuable feedback to optimize designs based on real insights. DESCRIPTION Prototyping serves as a powerful tool to present ideas to stakeholders and key individuals, resulting in significant time and cost savings. Written with the intention of benefiting those engaged in product or service design and development, this book is designed to cater to a diverse audience of professionals and technology users. Packed with meaningful insights, practical concepts, and engaging hands-on exercises, this book empowers you to craft exceptional digital experiences through the power of iterative prototyping. It expedites the learning process, enabling you to grasp UX prototyping concepts without enduring years of avoidable mistakes and the challenges of traditional learning methods. Moreover, it outlines crucial attributes and effective strategies, including developing market-friendly use cases and adapting solutions to diverse tech or business environments. The book strongly emphasizes user-centered design principles, iterative development, and proficient communication. By mastering the art of prototyping, you can elevate the user experience, mitigate design risks, and successfully deliver products that meet and exceed user expectations. WHAT YOU WILL LEARN● Seamlessly incorporate prototyping throughout the design process, ensuring efficient workflows from ideation to development.● Understand the importance of requirement gathering for prototyping● Learn various prototyping techniques and tools, adapting them to project needs.● Build interactive prototype designs using Figma and Adobe Experience Design (XD)● Create rapid prototypes for iterative improvements and integrate user testing for valuable insights. WHO THIS BOOK IS FORThis book is for current and aspiring students, UI designers, UX designers, interaction designers, information architects, developers, usability engineers, product managers, business analysts, and technical writers.
Universal Principles of UX by
Master the art of user experience design through the 100 laws, guidelines, human biases, and general considerations in this comprehensive, cross-disciplinary encyclopedia. Richly illustrated and easy to navigate, Universal Principles of UX pairs clear explanations of each concept with visual examples of the ideas applied in practice. The book is organized into six broad categories: Consider Empathize Define Research Design Validate And, features principles as diverse as: Design is not neutral Make the choice easy Some complexity cannot be reduced Map the ecosystem So you think you can scroll Don't grade your own homework User Experience is a field notable for its expansiveness, complexity and persistent evolution. This book is not a chronological retelling of the history of user experience design. It is also not a technical how-to book that will show you how to become a perfect user experience designer one step at a time. It's a philosophical anthology of case studies, situations, problems, and contradictions encountered across more than fifteen years of working on real world client projects that will teach you how to think, rather than tell you what to do. Each principle is presented in a two-page format. The left-hand page contains a succinct definition, a full description of the principle, examples of its use, and guidelines for use. Sidenotes appear to the right of the text, and provide elaborations and references. The right-hand page contains visual examples and related graphics to support a deeper understanding of the principle. This landmark reference is the standard for designers, engineers, managers, and students who seek to broaden and improve their user experience design expertise. The titles in the Rockport Universal series offer comprehensive and authoritative information and edifying and inspiring visual examples on multidisciplinary subjects for designers, architects, engineers, students, and anyone who is interested in expanding and enriching their design knowledge.
Don't just learn to code, learn how to make your apps appealing and user friendly. Explore the thousands of UX courses available on Udemy such as "User Experience Design Fundamentals" and "Master Digital Product Design: UX Research and UI Design." To see the complete collection of tutorials, hover over Explore at the top of the screen next to the search box, and then follow this path: UX, Web & Mobile Design>User Experience Design.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
97 Things Every UX Practitioner Should Know by
Tap into the wisdom of experts to learn what every UX practitioner needs to know. With 97 short and extremely useful articles, you'll discover new approaches to old problems, pick up road-tested best practices, and hone your skills through sound advice. Working in UX involves much more than just creating user interfaces. UX teams struggle with understanding what's important, which practices they should know deeply, and what approaches aren't helpful at all. With these 97 concise articles, editor Dan Berlin presents a wealth of advice and knowledge from experts who have practiced UX throughout their careers. Bring Themes to Exploratory Research--Shanti Kanhai Design for Content First--Marli Mesibov Design for Universal Usability--Ann Chadwick-Dias Be Wrong on Purpose--Skyler Ray Taylor Diverse Participant Recruiting Is Critical to Authentic User Research--Megan Campos Put On Your InfoSec Hat to Improve Your Designs--Julie Meridian Boost Your Emotional Intelligence to Move from Good to Great UX--Priyama Barua
UX for Dummies by
Get up to speed quickly on the latest in user experience strategy and design UX For Dummies is a hands-on guide to developing and implementing user experience strategy. Written by globally-recognized UX consultants, this essential resource provides expert insight and guidance on using the tools and techniques that create a great user experience, along with practical advice on implementing a UX strategy that aligns with your organisation's business goals and philosophy. You'll learn how to integrate web design, user research, business planning and data analysis to focus your company's web presence on the needs of your customers, gaining the skills you need to be effective in the field of user experience design. Whether it's the interface, graphics, industrial design, physical interaction or a user manual, being anything less than on point can negatively affect customer satisfaction and retention. User experience design fully encompasses traditional human-computer interaction design, and extends it to address all aspects of a product or service as perceived by users. UX For Dummies provides comprehensive guidance to professionals looking to understand and apply effective UX strategies. Defines UX and offers assistance with determining users and modelling the user experience Provides details on creating a content strategy and building information architectures Explores visual design and designing for specific channels Delves into UX testing and methods for keeping your site relevant The UX field is growing rapidly as companies realise that meeting your business goals requires a web presence aligned with customer needs. This alignment demands smart strategy and even smarter design. Consultants, designers and practitioners must all be on board if the result is to be cohesive and effective. UX For Dummies provides the information and expert advice you need to get up to speed quickly.
UX Fundamentals for Non-UX Professionals by
What can a WWII-era tank teach us about design? What does a small, blue flower tell us about audiences? What do drunk, French marathon-runners show us about software? In 40+ chapters and stories, you will learn the ways in which UX has influenced history and vice versa, and how it continues to change our daily lives. This book enables you to participate fully in discussions about UX, as you discover the fundamentals of user experience design and research. Rather than grasp concepts through a barrage of facts and figures, you will learn through stories. Poisonous blowfish, Russian playwrights, tiny angels, Texas sharpshooters, and wilderness wildfires all make an appearance. From Chinese rail workers to UFOs, you will cover a lot of territory, because the experiences that surround you are as broad and varied as every age, culture, and occupation. You will start by covering the principles of UX before going into more diverse topics, including: being human, the art of persuasion, and the murky waters of process. Every day, people gather around conference tables, jump onto phone calls, draw on whiteboards, stare at computer monitors, and try to build things -- we all create. Increasingly, what we create is something digital. From apps to web sites, and from emails to video games, often the sole evidence of an experience appears on an illuminated screen. We design tiny worlds that thrive or perish at the whim of a device's on/off button. With this book you will be ready. What You'll Learn Master the fundamentals of UX Acquire the skills to participate intelligently in discussions about UX design and research Understand how UX impacts business, including product, pricing, placement, and promotion as well as security, speed, and privacy Who This Book Is For Professionals who work alongside UX designers and researchers, including but not limited to: project managers, graphic designers, copyeditors, developers, and human resource professionals; and business, marketing, and computer science students seeking to understand how UX affects human cognition and memory, product pricing and promotion, and software security and privacy.