Planet Name: Earth
Named For: Earth is a Germanic word meaning "the ground."
Size: 7,926 miles in diameter
Moons: 1 Moon
Rings: None
Temperature: Average temperature is 59 degrees Fahrenheit
Distance from the Sun: 93 million miles
Number of Earth Days It Takes to Orbit the Sun: 365.5 days
Source: NASA
Knowledge Encyclopedia Planet Earth! by
Explore planet Earth like you've never known before with this perfect children's encyclopedia for a young explorer. Forming part of a fantastic series of kid's educational books, this bold and brilliant kid's encyclopedia uses ground-breaking CGI imagery to reveal the world as you've never seen it before. Informative, diverse in subject matter, easy-to-read and brimming with beautiful graphics, young learners can explore the incredibly detailed cross-sections and cutaways that reveal the inner workings of the world around them, featuring floods, hurricanes, volcanoes, deserts and more. This charming children's encyclopedia opens the world in new ways, with: - Packed with facts, charts, timelines, and illustrations that cover a vast range of topics. - Encompassing a visual approach with illustrations, photographs and extremely detailed 3D CGI images. - Crystal clear text distills the key information. - DK's encyclopedias are fact-checked by subject experts to offer accuracy beyond online sources of information. SI Knowledge Encyclopedia: Planet Earth! covers everything you need to know about Earth in glorious technicolor detail alongside easy explanations and fun facts to spark young minds to find out about our planet and how it works. The perfect encyclopedia for children aged 9-12, ideal for inquisitive minds, young learners can discover an array of fascinating facts, such as what's inside Earth, and why is it so hot under the surface? How did our planet come about, and what did it look like in the beginning? How are mountains formed and why are forests important? What happens when glaciers melt and how can we stop climate change? Encourage youngsters to explore habitats and ecosystems - inside caves, among enormous redwoods, on the savannahs, or deep down under the oceans. This extraordinary encyclopedia fuels your imagination using its jaw-dropping visual approach to explain everything from what keeps Earth in its place to the great diversity of plants, animals, and people who live on it, why it is unique and how it is changing. Explore, Discover And Learn! DK's SI Knowledge Encyclopedia: Planet Earth uncovers the marvels of our world in unprecedented detail and with stunning realism. Encompassing engaging facts about Earth, including a closer look at nature, diving into the human body, the amazing world of science and our world's history, you can spend quality time exploring the our universe with your children, accompanied by impressive visuals to engage their senses. A must-have volume for curious kids with a thirst for knowledge, this enthralling encyclopedia is structured in such a way that your child can read a bit at a time, and feel comfortable to pause and ask questions. Doubling up as the perfect gift for young readers, who are always asking questions about our planet! At DK, we believe in the power of discovery. This thrilling kid's encyclopedia is part of the SI Knowledge Encyclopedia educational series. Celebrate your child's curiosity as they complete the collection and discover diverse facts about the world around them. Dive into the deep blue with SI Knowledge Encyclopedia Ocean! Travel back in time to when dinosaurs roamed the earth with Knowledge Encyclopedia Dinosaur! And hone your knowledge on how the human body works with SI Knowledge Encyclopedia Human Body! Whatever topic takes their fancy, there's an encyclopaedia for everyone!
Planet Earth by
Humans have long been fascinated by space exploration, from the earliest NASA probes to the latest journeys toward the distant edges of the solar system. Readers will learn about the discovery of new stars and planets, the ways celestial bodies are formed, and much more. Features: Engaging sidebars highlight important space discoveries Timelines illustrate the ways our knowledge of space has changed over time Glossaries explain difficult scientific terms in a way that makes them easy to understand Eye-catching images give readers an up-close look at the far reaches of space www.factsfornow.scholastic.com
Planet Earth (a True Book) (Library Edition) by
Discover the wonder and learn the truth about our rocky home.Why does life exist on Earth but nowhere else in our solar system? What causes Earth's seasons? What makes up the Earth's interior? This book answers these questions and many more about our rocky home. From Earth's place in space, to its atmosphere and time zones, everything readers need to know about planet Earth is covered!Planets and stars, moons and galaxies! The universe is a vast and mysterious place with much to explore. And there's no better way to make amazing discoveries about space than with this reimagined series. With the latest NASA imagery, the classic structure and features of A True Book, and lively text, the titles in Our Universe bring the awe of the cosmos directly to readers. Students will come away with a wealth of knowledge about the incredible celestial bodies in our universe.This series covers Next Generation Science Standards core ideas including "The Universe and its stars" and "Earth and the solar system."
Discovering Planet Earth : A Guide to the World's Terrain and the Forces That Made It by
From icy polar tundra to lush tropical rainforests, readers can explore the wonders of the planet we call home in this spectacular visual guide.This beautiful jacketed hardcover introduces the many landscapes and systems that make up Planet Earth, from its molten core and plate tectonics to the different landscapes which make up its surface. Readers can explore the Amazon basin, taiga forests across the frozen wastes of Siberia and vast deserts on almost every continent.Includes:• Land: volcanoes, glaciers, caves, wetlands...• Air: the geomagnetic field, weather, the auroras...• Sea: tides, coral reefs, fjords...The text is brought to life by superb full-color photos, charts, maps and infographics to reveal the planet in all its splendor. A fascinating guide to the world which can be enjoyed by the whole family.ABOUT THE SERIES: Arcturus'Discovering... series brings together spectacular hardback guides which explore the science behind our world, brought to life by eye-catching photography.
Earth: One-Of-a-Kind Planet by
A nonfiction picture book for ages 5 to 8 that explores the place we all call home--planet Earth! Learn how Earth was made, why there's life here, and how climate change is affecting everything. Earth is our home, but do we really know about this planet? Quite a lot! We know how the Earth came to be the planet we live on, how oxygen made it possible for life to develop, and how the climate is changing in ways that affect everyone and everything. In The Earth: One-of-a-Kind Planet, the narrator, who just happens to be the Universe, explains where Earth is located in the solar system, how life evolved on Earth, and more. Universe uses a friendly, relatable tone to engage young readers and explain complex science content in ways kids can understand and relate to. And the alien commentators are hilarious for both kids and adults! Vivid illustrations, text-to-self connections, and a hands-on science activity all provide foundational learning opportunities to explore planet Earth. A poem at the beginning encourages language arts connections. Perfect as a read aloud or for beginner readers, with a glossary to support language development. The Earth: One-of-a-Kind Planet is part of a set of four books in the Picture Book Science series that explore our incredible solar system. Other titles in this series include The Stars: A Gazillion Suns; The Sun: Shining Star of the Solar System; and The Moon: Small-but-Mighty Neighbor. Includes layered text and back matter that encourage more in-depth discovery Promotes a sense of awe and wonder at earth and space sciences Uses humor to engage children's attention Promotes cross-curriculum learning through poetry Includes a hands-on, science-minded project to help support and reinforce deeper learning Meets Next Generation Science Standards in Earth's Place in the Universe and Space Systems: Patterns and Cycles for grades K through 3 About the Picture Book Science series and Nomad Press Nomad Press books in the Picture Book Science series present real-world examples of science topics kids find fascinating! These nonfiction picture books consist of engaging narratives paired with detailed, accurate illustrations and layered text that offers ample opportunity for discussion and reflection. Elementary-aged children are equipped to recognize basic science concepts and identify the different ways they are demonstrated in real life, while being impressed with the idea that science is a constant part of our lives and not limited to classrooms and laboratories. All books are leveled for Guided Reading level and Lexile and align with Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards. All titles are available in paperback, hardcover, and ebook formats.
Stuff You Should Know about Planet Earth by
How do hurricanes form? Why does the moon change shape? What are tectonic plates? You'll discover the answer to these questions and many more when you step inside the inner workings of Planet Earth! From digging deep under the ground to floating to the highest layer of the atmosphere – you might be surprised where you end up.In this fascinating introduction to Planet Earth, large, colourful diagrams are brought to life by tiny people running around performing the actions that are explained in the text. The 80-page extent allows for an in-depth look at the workings of our planet, from the water cycle and the atmosphere, to how the seasons change and why hurricanes happen. Double gatefolds give a large space in which to explore complex processes such as the rock cycle and evolution. A follow-up to the successful book, Stuff You Should Know About the Human Body.
To Planet Earth! by
Earth is truly amazing! It has giant glaciers, gorgeous canyons, and it's the only planet we know of with intelligent life. Ian is exploring Earth with his tour guide, Dr. Sally. Join them as they study ocean animals, the African savanna, and the chilly South Pole. Find out more about the planet we call home.
Earth by
Jump into orbit around one planet in our amazing solar system: Earth! Take a fact-filled flight to learn what makes our home planet so special. Explore its watery surface, its protective atmosphere, and more. Includes a support page of teaching tips for caregivers and teachers. Downloadable Teacher's Notes available.
Earth by
A basic introduction to planet Earth, its size, composition, and place within our solar system.
Earth by
The third planet from the Sun, Earth is our home and the only planet we know of that holds life. Learn how Earth and the Moon orbit the Sun together, how continents form, and how the atmosphere protects. Then learn how satellites show us how Earth will change in the future.
The Amazing Planet Earth (StoryBots) by
The wacky robots from the award-winning apps, videos, and Netflix show, Ask the StoryBots, now star in their own early readers. This one is about our little corner of the solar system! Fans of the StoryBots will recognize the colorful art from their popular outer-space video, "A Beautiful, Beautiful World" (The Earth Song), on YouTube. There are eight planets in our solar system, but the most beautiful is the one we call home. This rhyming Step 1 Science Reader will entertain while imparting simple facts about everyone's favorite planet. Step 1 Readers feature big type and easy words for children who know the alphabet and are eager to begin reading. Rhyme and rhythmic text paired with picture clues help children decode the story. Accolades for the StoryBots digital media: Appy Award for Best Book App Teacher's Choice Award Editor's Choice--Children's Technology Review Family Choice Award Parents' Choice Award Cynopsis Kids !magination Award for best educational mobile app