The most famous star in our lives is the sun, but the sun is just one star of more than 100 billion stars in our galaxy, the Milky Way. Astronomers believe there may as many as one septillion (1 followed by 24 zero) stars in the whole universe. That's a lot of stars!
Stars start out as very cold clouds of gas and dust. The clouds are so cold that the gas clumps together, building more and more mass as times goes on. The more mass they contain, the stronger their gravity, and eventually the gravity is so strong that the clumps collapse. This causes the material to heat up and create a baby star, also known as a protostar.
The core of the protostar is made of hydrogen. Over time, the center of the star gets so hot and is filled with so much pressure that it squeezes the hydrogen together to make helium. This process is known as nuclear fusion. The nuclear fusion releases energy, keeping the star from squeezing together any further.
Eventually, the star runs out of hydrogen that it can turn into helium. However there is so much pressure in the core that now the helium is squeezed together, forming carbon. When this happens, the star dies.
A star's death can go one of two ways. Stars without much mass -- like our sun -- begin to expand. The star's outer layers blow away and return to a gas and dust cloud, called a planetary nebula. The only part left is the core, and the star is now officially called a white dwarf.
Stars with more mass meet a more dramatic end. Higher mass stars are able to convert the helium into carbon and then further into other elements until the molecules in the core become iron. At that point, fusion cannot turn the core into anything else, so the star's core collapses and then suddenly explodes. The explosion is known as a supernova. Like smaller mass stars, only the core remains and becomes either a neutron star or a black hole.
After a star dies, the material it throws back out into the universe is used to create new stars.
Source: NASA
Stars (a True Book) (Library Edition) by
Did you know that stars explode? Or that they can be different colors? Have you ever wondered how many stars exist in the universe or how they form? These are just a few of the topics covered through the pages of this book.From supergiants to white dwarfs, and star clusters to supernovae, readers will be consumed with fascinating facts and information about these bright, beaming objects in our universe.Planets and stars, moons and galaxies! The universe is a vast and mysterious place with much to explore. And there's no better way to make amazing discoveries about space than with this reimagined series. With the latest NASA imagery, the classic structure and features of A True Book, and lively text, the titles in Our Universe bring the awe of the cosmos directly to readers. Students will come away with a wealth of knowledge about the incredible celestial bodies in our universe.This series covers Next Generation Science Standards core ideas including "The Universe and its stars" and "Earth and the solar system."
DK Super Readers Level 2 Stars and Galaxies by
Help your child power up their reading skills and learn all about stars, galaxies, and the universe with this fun-filled nonfiction reader carefully leveled to help children progress. DK Super Readers Level 2: Stars and Galaxies will help kids to learn about Earth's place in the solar system and the stars and planets we share the vastness of space with--including fun facts about constellations and some tips on stargazing--and is a motivating introduction to using essential nonfiction reading skills, proving ideal for children ready to enter the riveting world of reading. DK Super Readers take children on a journey through the wonderful world of nonfiction: traveling back to the time of dinosaurs, learning more about animals, exploring natural wonders and more, all while developing vital nonfiction reading skills and progressing from first words to reading confidently. The DK Super Readers series can help your child practice reading by: - Covering engaging, motivating, curriculum-aligned topics. - Building knowledge while progressing key Grades 2 and 3 reading skills. - Developing subject vocabulary on topics such as solar system, galaxies, and astronomy. - Boosting understanding and retention through comprehension quizzes. Each title, which has been leveled using MetaMetrics®: The Lexile Framework for Reading, integrates science, geography, history, and nature topics so there's something for all children's interests. The books and online content perfectly supplement core literacy programs and are mapped to the Common Core Standards. Children will love powering up their nonfiction reading skills and becoming reading heroes. DK Super Readers Level 2 are visually engaging and expand subject knowledge and vocabulary for young readers who want to learn more about the world around them. Perfect to help children ages 7 to 9 (Grades 2 and 3) beginning to read independently.
Stars and Planets by
The clearest, most accessible guide to observing the night sky. Introducing the Handbook of Stars and Planets - the perfect beginner's guide to the night sky! With a highly visual introduction that explains the basic concepts of astronomy and gives advice on the best methods and equipment for observation, including binoculars and telescopes, exploring the cosmos and more has never been easier or more accessible. Each of the planets in the Solar System is described and illustrated in detail, with images taken from space probes as well as from the ground, showing them as you can expect to see them. More than 160 star charts were made especially for this book by the Royal Greenwich Observatory. There is a separate detailed chart for each of the 88 constellations, adding up to a complete atlas of the sky. The text for each constellation reveals its history and mythology and lists notable stars, galaxies, nebulae, and other objects. Alongside the constellation profiles is a month-by-month guide, including a set of charts and a user-friendly text guide that picks out the highlights above your head each month. Soar into the pages of this awe-inspiring astronomy book to explore: - Introduction section provides an accessible primer on the basics of astronomy and skywatching - Equipment section includes a guide to the main kinds of binoculars, telescopes, and camera equipment - Practical advice also includes observing the sky with the naked eye - Profiles of planets and constellations include color-coded data tables, delivering fast facts for quick reference - Accesible text explains concepts clearly and guides the reader from beginner to intermediate-level astronomer This newly updated guide to the Solar System includes new discoveries, revised data, and the latest images from space probes! The revisions to constellation and monthly sky guides include new data on stars and other objects such as galaxies, as well as a refreshed guide to binoculars, telescopes, and cameras. Complete with jargon-free text written by one of the foremost popularizers of astronomy and an authority on the history of constellations, the DK Handbook of Stars and Planets is the perfect introduction to stargazing! So whether you're a budding astronomer or an intermediate space savvy, this great guide to the night sky is suitable for children aged 12+ and adults alike, and promises something for everyone to explore, discover and love!
The Stars: a Gazillion Suns by
A full-color nonfiction picture book for ages 5 to 8 about those billions of stars you see when you look up into the nighttime sky! The Universe is full of billions of twinkling stars that humans have told stories about, navigated by, and made wishes upon for centuries. But what is a star made of? How long will its light last? In The Stars: A Gazillion Suns, the character of the Universe takes us on a journey among the stars and explains how they are born, what makes them twinkle, how many there are, and even how they will come to an end. The Universe's conversational tone helps to engage and inform, bringing complex scientific concepts to a level kids can grasp. The two alien characters provide hilarious commentary while a poem at the beginning encourages language arts connections! Through a hands-on activity and a glossary, kids are invited to explore a world previously out of reach. Perfect as a read aloud or for beginner readers! The Stars: A Gazillion Suns is part of a set of four books in the Picture Book Science series that explore our incredible solar system. Other titles in this series include The Sun: Shining Star of the Solar System; The Earth: One-of-a-Kind Planet; and The Moon: Small-but-Mighty Neighbor. Provides layered text and back matter that encourage more in-depth discovery Promotes a sense of awe and wonder in astronomy Uses humor to engage children's attention Promotes cross-curriculum learning through poetry Includes a hands-on, science-minded project to help support and reinforce deeper learning Meets Next Generation Science Standards in Earth's Place in the Universe and Space Systems: Patterns and Cycles for grades K through 3 About the Picture Book Science series and Nomad Press Nomad Press books in the Picture Book Science series present real-world examples of science topics kids find fascinating! These nonfiction picture books consist of engaging narratives paired with detailed, accurate illustrations and layered text that offers ample opportunity for discussion and reflection. Elementary-aged children are equipped to recognize basic science concepts and identify the different ways they are demonstrated in real life, while being impressed with the idea that science is a constant part of our lives and not limited to classrooms and laboratories. All books are leveled for Guided Reading level and Lexile and align with Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards. All titles are available in paperback, hardcover, and ebook formats.
Stars by
This title will cover how stars form, different types of stars, their lifecycle, and the most important star to us--the Sun! Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Abdo Kids Jumbo is an imprint of Abdo Kids, a division of ABDO.
Stars by
In this lively and informative book, beginning readers will be introduced to the physical characteristics of stars - as well as the major stars in our solar system.
Stars by
Offers readers a captivating look into stars, complete with vivid photographs and exciting diagrams. Back matter includes an in-depth 'Out of This World' feature that highlights a related topic, a phonetic glossary, resources for further study, and an index.
Stars by
Looking up at the stars on a clear night can inspire many questions in young minds. This easy-to-follow narrative provides lots of answers about star formation, sizes, temperatures, colors, constellations, and the life and death of stars. A fun, hands-on-activity illustrates why stars shine only at night. Fast facts and Words to Know sections offer additional information, while colorful photographs bring each concept into splendid focus. This book correlates directly with the Next Generation Science Standards' expectation for understanding Earth's Place in the Universe in first and second grades.
Stars and Galaxies by
It's time to explore space! Learn all about the history and science of stars and galaxies, all the way back to the beginning of time. Detailed diagrams and in-depth text along with backmatter comprehension questions will engage readers to explore everything our galaxies have to reveal.
Super Stars by
Everyone knows that those bright, white dots in the night sky are stars; but how many of us really know what stars are, how they are born, how their lives affect ours, and how they die. SuperStars! is a book to expand the knowledge and fire the imaginations of stargazers everywhere. Expert David Aguilar guides young readers through a galaxy of stars, including the biggest, wariest, and most explosive, not to mention star daycares and "diamonds in the sky". SuperStars! is a title that will intrigue kids and bring all those mesmerizing little dots of light in the night sky to life..