Community Resources: Disability Resources

Artists First offers art based programs throughout the greater Saint Louis area serving aspiring artists of all ages whose lives are challenged by developmental disabilities, pervasive mental illness, and/or traumatic brain injury.
​(314) 781-4440

Broadway Transportation provides door-to-door transportation to sheltered workshops and day programs for individuals who are unable to use public transportation.
314-800-8082

Evaluation and treatment of children with ADHD, Autism Spectrum disorders, developmental delays, language and social delay, intellectual disabilities, and genetic syndromes with behavioral or developmental impact. Physician referral required.
314-577-5609

Offers programs including medical therapies, counseling, vocational and employment services, two adult day programs and three social enterprises to those with head injuries.
(314) 983-9230

Offers support, job training, educational, and recreational services to those with disabilities.
11933 Westline Industrial Drive St. Louis, MO 63146 (314) 394-7100

Jazz Transportation provides door-to-door transportation to sheltered workshops and day programs for individuals who are unable to use public transportation.
314-358-6051

Mercy Kids Autism Center provides a child-and-family-centered approach to ASD. Our services include diagnosis, medical and psychological care, family navigation services and treatment programs. We develop a tailor-made care plan for your child in partnership with you. Physician referral required.
(314) 529-5660

The East Missouri Autism Project (EMAP) serves individuals in 3 counties in the St. Louis area. Individuals are served through the St. Louis County and the St. Louis Tri-County regional offices. In order to be eligible for Autism Project services, individuals must be eligible to receive services from the Division of Developmental Disabilities and have a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder. Services include assessment, counseling, support, training, therapy, home modifications, and more.

First Steps is Missouri’s Early Intervention system for infants and toddlers, birth to age three, who have delayed development or diagnosed conditions that are associated with developmental disabilities.
573-522-0045

Saint Louis University's Interdisciplinary Center for Autism Services provides an in-depth diagnostic evaluation for school-age clients in kindergarten through 12th grade that may qualify for a medical diagnosis of autism.
314-977-5377

Provides support, networking opportunities, employment training, and resources to families and individuals with developmental disabilities or autism.
314-569-2211

Provides funding to and information about resources in St. Louis City, St. Louis County, St. Charles County, and Jefferson County that assist people with developmental disabilities. Case management is available.
314-421-0090

Provides diagnostic, intervention, and support services for those with autism. Physician referral required.
314-286-1700

Offers independent living assessments, support, equipment and home modification assistance, and more.
(636)926-8761

Delta Center for Independent Living strives to meet the needs of low income disabled adults, helping them remain independent and living in their own homes. One way we do this is by recycling used Durable Medical Equipment (DME). Individuals donate equipment they no longer need, and we give it to income eligible adults who need it but can’t afford it.
636-926-8761

Offer dietitian and respiratory therapy assistance through contact with clinicians and help accessing equipment.
9301 Dielman Industrial Dr. Saint Louis, MO 63132 (314) 993-8100

Offers mobility equipment as well as assistance navigating the insurance process, advocacy, and equipment maintenance.
13300 Lakefront Drive Earth City, MO 63045-1513 (314) 699-9500

Neighbor to neighbor, providing recycled free home medical equipment, sharing healing, happiness and independence, while preserving the environment.
314-897-HELP (4357)

Membership-based organization that provides programs, support, and ways to connect for those with significant visual impairments.
314-832-7172

Links to local resources for the blind.

Locations and contact information for local state services.
9900 Page Ave. Suite 105 St. Louis, MO 63132 314-264-7602 (St. Louis North District)
3867 Magnolia Ave. St. Louis, MO 63110 314-933-7323 (St. Louis South District)

Apply for additional State benefits for people with blindness.

The National Federation of the Blind (NFB), is an organization of blind people and their friends. They provide programs and services for people of all ages as well as camps and scholarships.
816-679-5258

The programs and services offered by the Society include low vision medical exams and low vision therapy, assistive technology, daily living training, orientation and mobility, and counseling for adults.
314-968-9000

Wolfner Library is a free library service for Missourians of all ages who are unable to read standard print materials due to visual impairment, blindness, physical disability or reading disability, either temporary or permanent. There is no charge for materials or shipping.
1-800-392-2614

Offers hearing screenings and hearing aids at a low cost with Missouri Medicaid.
(314) 968-4710

In addition to being a preK-6 school for children who are deaf or hard of hearing, CID helps families whose child age birth-3 has a hearing problem. Parent educators, teachers, individual therapists and audiologists are credentialed providers for First Steps in Missouri and Child and Family Connections in Illinois. Expert pediatric audiologists will work closely with parents to ensure each child receives appropriate amplification as soon as possible. They provide loaner hearing aids if needed.
314-977-0132

DEAF, Inc. provides high-quality interpreting services at low cost in an effort to bridge the communication gap between the Deaf, Hard of Hearing, DeafBlind and Hearing society.
314-714-6400

Directory of hearing clinics in the U.S. with thousands of hearing care professionals. Hearing aid information also available on this site.

Offers comprehensive educational evaluations of children's potential for success in learning spoken language. Evaluation services are available to any family who wishes to confidentially assess their child’s skills and wants help in making appropriate decisions regarding their child’s educational placement.
(314) 692-7172

Offers services and equipment for those who are deaf or hard of hearing for communicating on the phone or for those wishing to communicate with someone who struggles to hear.
Dial 7-1-1

Provides services for children age birth-3 with hearing loss, family support groups, and audiology services for children age birth-18.
(314) 918-1369