Born: February 9, 1773 Berkeley Plantation, Virginia
Presidential Term: March 4, 1841 - April 4, 1841
Three Interesting Facts (National Park Service):
He spent most of his career securing Indian land for the United States.
He had the longest inauguration speech.
He was the first president to die in office after serving for only 31 days.
Died: April 4, 1841, Washington, D.C.
Image from the National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution
Read or listen to reference entries about William Henry Harrison, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore William Henry Harrison's timeline from his birth through his death in the White House in World Book Timelines.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on William Henry Harrison.
William H. Harrison by
This biography introduces readers to William H. Harrison, including his military service during the War of 1812; his early political career as governor of Indiana Territory, US congressman, and Ohio state senator; and Harrison's term that was the shortest presidency in US history. Information about his childhood, family, and personal life is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
William Henry Harrison by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of William Henry Harrison, ninth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
William Henry Harrison by
It is rather unfortunate to work so hard towards a goal and to enjoy it for a just few days. Such is the story of William Henry Harrison, who was president of the United States for 31 days. In this book, you will read about his early life, career and political success. You will also understand his role in the War of 1812. Start reading tod
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about William Henry Harrison. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about William Henry Harrison, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
The Carnival Campaign by
Americans have come to expect that the nation's presidential campaigns will be characterized by a carnival atmosphere emphasizing style over substance. But this fascinating account of the pivotal 1840 election reveals how the now-unavoidable traditions of big money, big rallies, shameless self-promotion, and carefully manufactured candidate images first took root in presidential politics. Pulitzer Prize-nominated former Wall Street Journal reporter Ronald G. Shafer tells the colorful story of the election battle between sitting president Martin Van Buren, a professional Democratic politician from New York, and Whig Party upstart William Henry Harrison, a military hero who was nicknamed "Old Tippecanoe" after a battlefield where he fought and won in 1811. Shafer shows how the pivotal campaign of "Tippecanoe and Tyler Too" marked a series of firsts that changed presidential politicking forever: the first presidential campaign as mass entertainment, directed at middle- and lower-income voters; the first "image campaign," in which strategists painted Harrison as an everyman living in a log cabin sipping hard cider (in fact, he was born into wealth, lived in a twenty-two-room mansion, and drank only sweet cider); the first campaign in which a candidate, Harrison, traveled and delivered speeches directly to voters; the first one influenced by major campaign donations; the first in which women openly participated; and the first involving massive grassroots rallies, attended by tens of thousands and marked by elaborate fanfare, including bands, floats, a log cabin on wheels, and the world's tallest man. Some of history's most fascinating figures--including Susan B. Anthony, Charles Dickens, Abraham Lincoln, Edgar Allan Poe, Thaddeus Stevens, and Walt Whitman--pass through this colorful story, which is essential reading for anyone interested in learning when image first came to trump ideas in presidential politics.
William Henry Harrison and the Conquest of the Ohio Country by
Who was William Henry Harrison, and what does his military career reveal about the War of 1812 in the Great Lakes Region? In his study of William Henry Harrison, David Curtis Skaggs sheds light on the role of citizen-soldiers in taming the wilderness of the old Northwest. Perhaps best known for the Whig slogan in 1840--"Tippecanoe and Tyler Too"--Harrison used his efforts to pacify Native Americans and defeat the British in the War of 1812 to promote a political career that eventually elevated him to the presidency. Harrison exemplified the citizen-soldier on the Ohio frontier in the days when white men settled on the western side of the Appalachian Mountains at their peril. Punctuated by almost continuous small-scale operations and sporadic larger engagements, warfare in this region revolved around a shifting system of alliances among various Indian tribes, government figures, white settlers, and business leaders. Skaggs focuses on Harrison's early life and military exploits, especially his role on Major General Anthony Wayne's staff during the Fallen Timbers campaign and Harrison's leadership of the Tippecanoe campaign. He explores how the military and its leaders performed in the age of a small standing army and part-time, Cincinnatus-like forces. This richly detailed work reveals how the military and Indian policies of the early republic played out on the frontier, freshly revisiting a subject central to American history: how white settlers tamed the west--and at what cost.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: William Henry Harrison by
Presents a biography of William Henry Harrison