Born: August 20, 1833, North Bend, Ohio
Presidential Term: 1889-1893
Three Interesting Facts (Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site):
It cost $29,000 to build his 10,000 square foot home between 1868 and 1875. In today's money, that is more than $8.3 million.
He loved nature and created many national forests and national parks.
His first wife died while he was president. He then married his wife's niece.
Died: March 13, 1901, Indianapolis, Indiana
Benjamin Harrison by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Benjamin Harrison, twenty-third president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Benjamin Harrison by
This biography introduces readers to Benjamin Harrison, including his early political career and key events from Harrison's administration including the Sherman Silver Purchase Act and the Sherman Antitrust Act. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Benjamin Harrison. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Benjamin Harrison, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Benjamin Harrison by
Benjamin Harrison was an honest, intelligent, hardworking lawyer from Indiana who became the twenty-third President of the United States. During his term in office, he signed important legislation and provided leadership in negotiating foreign policy, striving to advance the United States toward becoming a world power. This book presents an up-to-date and cogent biography of this president who is now considered one of the better presidents of the late nineteenth century.
Read or listen to reference entries about Benjamin Harrison, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Benjamin Harrison's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Benjamin Harrison by
A biography of the twenty-third president of the United States, discussing his personal life, education, and political career.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Benjamin Harrison by
Presents a biography of Benjamin Harrison