Born: October 4, 1822, Delaware, Ohio
Presidential Term: 1877-1881
Three Interesting Facts (rbhayes.org):
He didn't win the presidential election at first, but accusations of widespread voter fraud caused Congress to set up a special electoral commission to determine the winner.
He was a supporter of African American education and was the first president of the John F. Slater Fund, an organization dedicated to giving a Christian education to newly freed Black students.
He was passionate about genealogy.
Died: January 17, 1893, Fremont, Ohio
Rutherford B. Hayes by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Rutherford B. Hayes, nineteenth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Rutherford B. Hayes by
This biography introduces readers to Rutherford B. Hayes, including his early political career and key events from Hayes's administration including civil service reforms, the end of Reconstruction, and the passage of the Bland-Allison Act. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Rutherford B. Hayes. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about Rutherford B. Hayes, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Read or listen to reference entries about Rutherford B. Hayes, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Rutherford B. Hayes' timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Rutherford B. Hayes by
Rutherford B. Hayes, governor of Ohio and Civil War hero, was elected president in 1876 in the most controversial electron until 2000. Hayes received 250,000 fewer votes than Democrat Samuel Tilden. However, after recounts in key states (including Florida). Hayes was declared the winner by a single electoral vote. Democrats agreed not to contest the decision if Republicans would pledge to end military occupation of Southern states. Hayes soon began removing troops, leaving the South to the Democratic party and leaving the campaign for African Americans' civil rights unfinished Despite this doubtful beginning. Hayes's integrity and fair dealing helped restore the prestige of the presidency, which had been tarnished by the scandals of the Grant administration. Hayes proposed the first civil service bill to reduce the corrupting influence of the "spoils" system and was the first president to visit the western states. Book jacket.
Rutherford B. Hayes by
Presents a biography of Rutherford B Hayes