Born: October 27, 1858, New York City, New York
Presidential Term: 1901-1909
Three Interesting Facts (constitutioncenter.org):
He was the first president to win a Nobel Peace Prize.
He might have had a photographic memory.
Teddy bears were named after him.
Died: January 6, 1919, Cove Neck, New York
Bully for You, Teddy Roosevelt!
by
"This colorful, idiosyncratic President, long a biographen' favorite, has never been portrayed with more beguiling wit, precision, and honesty. An excellent book, one of Fritz's best." --Kirkus Reviews (pointer review) Newbery Honor-winning author and preeminent biographer for young people, Jean Fritz, brings to life our colorful 26th president. Conservationist, hunter, family man, and politician, Teddy Roosevelt commanded the respect and admiration of many who marveled at his energy, drive and achievements. An ALA Notable Book. A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year.
Take a Hike, Teddy Roosevelt!
by
A Step 3 Step into Reading Biography Reader about Theodore Roosevelt--America's 26th President--and his efforts to protect our environment and establish national parks. Roosevelt battled asthma all his life, and the list of things he shouldn't do was long. But when people told him "you can't," he set about proving them wrong. This book focuses on his inexhaustible enthusiasm and his commitment to preserving America's natural resources. Step 3 Readers feature engaging characters in easy-to-follow plots about popular topics. These books are for children who are ready to read on their own.
Who Was Theodore Roosevelt?
by
He was only 42 years old when he was sworn in as President of the United States in 1901, making TR the youngest president ever. But did you know that he was also the first sitting president to win the Nobel Peace Prize? Find out more about The Bull M
Before Teddy Roosevelt Was President
by
The rugged image of Teddy Roosevelt might not appear to include the bustle of New York City, but there's much people don't know about the 26th president of the United States. Before Roosevelt founded the Bull Moose Party and ran for office, he was a weight lifter and practiced gymnastics. Readers explore the early life of this larger-than-life political figure, exploring his military career, hobbies, and writings in a book full of images and facts about one of America's most fascinating presidents.
Theodore Roosevelt
by
When he was sworn in as U.S. president in 1901 after the assassination of William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt was the youngest man ever to hold the office. He was a statesman, cowboy, soldier, hunter, naturalist, and explorer. In 1904, he was elected president by a triumphant majority. This biography delves into his time in office, during which he passed legislation to regulate big business, got broad control of railroads, conserved natural resources, and worked to break up industrial monopolies. In foreign policy, he brought about a peace conference between Russia and Japan and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.
Theodore Roosevelt
by
During his two terms as president, Theodore Roosevelt did an extraordinary amount to help Americans. He helped build the Panama Canal, created laws to protect our nation's forests and wildlife, and made foods and medicines safer for people. What was Roosevelt's biggest achievement? Young readers can choose for themselves as they find out about his overcoming of a childhood illness, his victories in the Spanish-American War, and his accomplishments as president. They will also make connections to their own lives as they learn about the many ways Roosevelt is remembered and honored today. Each 24-page book in this series features controlled text with age-appropriate vocabulary and simple sentence construction. The lively text, colorful design, and rich photos and illustrations are sure to capture the interest of emergent readers.
Theodore Roosevelt for Kids
by
Named a Smithsonian Notable Book for Children for 2010 nbsp; Theodore Roosevelt’s heart was as big as the great outdoors he loved. A sickly, undersized boy, he grew into a physically fit, energetic man whose courage knew no bounds. Roosevelt hailed from the top of American society, but wealth could not shield him from human tragedy. As leader of a young, vigorous nation, he steered a middle course between the power brokers of big business and the needs of ordinary working people. A keen student of nature, Roosevelt would protect millions of acres for posterity. He was a writer, ranchman, politician, soldier, explorer, family man, and America’s 26th president, the youngest person to ever hold the office. nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Theodore Roosevelt for Kids brings to life this fascinating man, an American giant whose flaws were there for all the world to see. Twenty-one hands-on activities offer a useful glimpse at Roosevelt’s work and times. Readers will create a Native American toy, explore the effects of erosion, go on a modern big game hunt with a camera, and make felted teddy bears. The text includes a time line, online resources, and reading list for further study. And through it all, readers will appreciate how one man lived a “Bully!” life and made the word his very own.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Theodore Roosevelt. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Theodore Roosevelt for Kids
by
Named a Smithsonian Notable Book for Children for 2010 nbsp; Theodore Roosevelt’s heart was as big as the great outdoors he loved. A sickly, undersized boy, he grew into a physically fit, energetic man whose courage knew no bounds. Roosevelt hailed from the top of American society, but wealth could not shield him from human tragedy. As leader of a young, vigorous nation, he steered a middle course between the power brokers of big business and the needs of ordinary working people. A keen student of nature, Roosevelt would protect millions of acres for posterity. He was a writer, ranchman, politician, soldier, explorer, family man, and America’s 26th president, the youngest person to ever hold the office. nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Theodore Roosevelt for Kids brings to life this fascinating man, an American giant whose flaws were there for all the world to see. Twenty-one hands-on activities offer a useful glimpse at Roosevelt’s work and times. Readers will create a Native American toy, explore the effects of erosion, go on a modern big game hunt with a camera, and make felted teddy bears. The text includes a time line, online resources, and reading list for further study. And through it all, readers will appreciate how one man lived a “Bully!” life and made the word his very own.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Theodore Roosevelt, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
American Cyclone
by
When Theodore Roosevelt entered national politics as the Republicans' nominee for the vice presidency in 1900, he was only forty-one years old. However, he had caught the public's attention with the popular version of his life story. Child of East Coast privilege. Sickly, bespectacled youth. Naturalist and author. Harvard graduate. New York assemblyman. Young widower. Badlands cowboy. Civil Service reformer. Urban police commissioner. Assistant Secretary of the Navy. Rough Rider and war hero. Enemy of political bosses as governor of the nation's most important state. Attentive husband to his second wife, Edith, and the father of six children. Few candidates for the presidency or vice presidency have enjoyed the elevated level of admiration accorded Roosevelt in the waning days of the nineteenth century. Biographers have chronicled every significant period of Roosevelt's life with one exception, and American Cyclone fills that gap. His nomination for the vice presidency was Roosevelt's debut as a candidate for national office. American Cyclone presents the story of his campaign, a whirlwind effort highlighted by an astounding whistle-stop tour of 480 communities across twenty-three states. Eighteen of those states gave a plurality of votes to the McKinley-Roosevelt ticket, a gain of five states for the Republicans over 1896. Everywhere Roosevelt went, admiring throngs and dramatic events helped forge him into the man who would soon be the twenty-sixth president of the United States. Returning from the war, Roosevelt was familiar to millions of people across the country as a determined leader. As he interacted with crowds of hundreds, thousands, and even tens of thousands, Roosevelt felt their eagerness to see and hear him. Accordingly, for the first time, this whistle-stop campaign marks the development of the confidence and maturity that would transform Roosevelt into a national leader.
Rough Rider
by
Rough Rider is a snapshot study of the significant career of President Theodore Roosevelt. Partly biographical sketch and partly analysis, the book provides an overview of his actions, ideals, and written works, highlighting important events from Roosevelt's early public life, his presidency, and later career. David Key sees Roosevelt as a statesman who well understood how to create his own popular image, but equally important was Roosevelt's place as one of the foremost historians of his time, a man who understood the traditional criteria for greatness and did not hesitate to shape his own legacy. Written especially for college students, Rough Rider examines pertinent primary sources and critical analyses of other historians to aid in understanding the legacy of Theodore Roosevelt.
Theodore Roosevelt
by
Of all the many biographies of Theodore Roosevelt, none has presented the twenty-sixth president as he saw himself: as a man of letters. This fascinating account traces Roosevelt's lifelong engagement with books and discusses his writings from childhood journals to his final editorial, finished just hours before his death. His most famous book, The Rough Riders--part memoir, part war adventure--barely begins to suggest the dynamism of his literary output. Roosevelt read widely and deeply, and worked tirelessly on his writing. Along with speeches, essays, reviews, and letters, he wrote history, autobiography, and tales of exploration and discovery. In this thoroughly original biography, Roosevelt is revealed at his most vulnerable--and his most human.
Theodore Roosevelt
by
Often dismissed by scholars as an opportunistic politician whose ideas lacked historical import, Theodore Roosevelt has been underestimated as a thinker. But to disdain Roosevelt’s politics is to overlook his important and lasting contributions to the shape of modern America, says the author of this compelling new study of the 26th president of the United States. Joshua Hawley examines Roosevelt’s political thought more deeply than ever before to arrive at a fully revised understanding of his legacy: Roosevelt galvanized a twenty-year period of national reform that permanently altered American politics and Americans’ expectations for government, social progress, and presidents. The book explores the historical context of Theodore Roosevelt’s politics, its intellectual sources, its practice, and its effect on his era and our own. Hawley finds that Roosevelt developed a coherent political science centered on the theme of righteousness, and this "warrior republicanism” was what made the progressive era possible. The debates of Roosevelt’s era were driven largely by his ideas, and from those debates emerged the grammar of our contemporary politics. Casting new light on the fertility and breadth of Roosevelt’s thought, Hawley reveals the full extent of his achievement in twentieth-century intellectual history.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on Theodore Roosevelt.
Read or listen to reference entries about Theodore Roosevelt, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Theodore Roosevelt's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
From the Ken Burns PBS series The Roosevelts: An Intimate History:
The Remarkable Rough-Riding Life of Theodore Roosevelt and the Rise of Empire America
by
The eagerly awaited third title in the Cheryl Harness Histories series paints a vibrant portrait of Theodore Roosevelt-Rough Rider, trustbuster, explorer, President, and more-whose bullish attitude forever changed America. How did a sickly boy transform himself into one of the country's boldest leaders? You'll get the full story-front page and behind-the-scenes-as only Cheryl Harness can tell it. Through her lively narrative and engaging artwork, readers will see Teddy riding the range in South Dakota, charging up San Juan Hill in the Spanish-American War, climbing the political ladder all the way to the White House, breaking up big business, building the Panama Canal, and big-game hunting in Africa. They will also experience life in America when the telephone, airplane, and automobile were all brand-new, when women, blacks, and laborers were demanding equal rights, and when the cry for expansion stretched the borders from Maine to the Philippines and from Puerto Rico to Alaska. This was an age in which Roosevelt's promise to give every American a "square deal" and to "walk softly and carry a big stick" helped build the country into a world power. With a new adventure on almost every page, readers will find themselves "wowed" by this true story of a larger-than-life American hero, and the country and times in which he lived. National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visitwww.natgeoed.org/commoncorefor more information.
Young Teddy Roosevelt
by
With beautifully detailed art and a lively, informative text, Cheryl Harness follows the life of young Teddy Roosevelt from his boyhood of ill health to his famed charge up San Juan Hill. Even in these early years, the fierce and lovable spirit of Teddy Roosevelt shines through.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles on Theodore Roosevelt.
The Boyhood Diary of Theodore Roosevelt, 1869-1870
by
The diary of Theodore Roosevelt records his travels through Europe with his family during 1869 and 1870. Includes activities and a timeline.
Colonel Theodore Roosevelt
by
Theodore Roosevelt seemed an unlikely head of state to many. Some called him the cowboy president because of his experiences as a Dakota Territory rancher, adventurer, and head of a Rough Rider regiment in the Spanish-American War. Yet as president he was anything but a hayseed. He increased the country's stature in the international sphere, built the Panama Canal, and won the Nobel Peace Prize. A tireless crusader for causes he held dear, he was known as the "trust buster" for breaking up powerful monopolies and was one of the most significant conservation activists of his time. This handsome portrait of perhaps our most colorful and energetic president includes photographs and pictures, letters, and other primary documents.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Theodore Roosevelt
by
Examines the life of Theodore Roosevelt, as a rancher, police commissioner, leader of the "Rough Riders," and the twenty-sixth president of the United States.