Born: November 24, 1784, Orange County, Virginia
Presidential Term: 1849-1850
Three Interesting Facts (National Park Service):
He was nicknamed "Old Rough and Ready."
He was considered a military war hero.
He died of a stomach illness after attending Fourth of July events on the future grounds of the Washington Mounument.
Died: July 9, 1850
Image from National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution
Read or listen to reference entries about Zachary Taylor, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Zachary Taylor. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about Zachary Taylor, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Zachary Taylor
by
This biography introduces readers to Zachary Taylor, including his long military service and key events from Taylor's administration including the Clayton-Bulwer Treaty and the national debate over slavery. Information about his childhood, family, and personal life is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Zachary Taylor
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Zachary Taylor, twelfth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Explore Zachary Taylor's timeline from his birth through his death in the White House in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Zachary Taylor
by
Presents a biography of Zachary Taylor
Zachary Taylor
by
This biography introduces readers to Zachary Taylor including his early political career and key events from Taylor's administration including the Clayton-Bulwer Treaty and the national debate over slavery. Information about his childhood, family, and personal life is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.