Born: December 29, 1808, Raleigh, North Carolina
Presidential Term: 1865-1869
Three Interesting Facts (The White House Historical Association):
He was an indentured servant as a child but ran away.
He became president when Abraham Lincoln was assassinated.
He was the first president to be impeached.
Died: July 31, 1875, Elizabethton, Tennessee
Andrew Johnson
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Andrew Johnson, seventeenth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Andrew Johnson
by
This biography introduces readers to Andrew Johnson, including his career as a tailor, early political career, and key events from Johnson's administration including Reconstruction, the Civil Rights Act, the Fourteenth Amendment, and Johnson's impeachment. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Andrew Johnson. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Andrew Johnson
by
This biography introduces readers to Andrew Johnson including his career as a tailor, early political career, and key events from Johnson's administration including Reconstruction, the Civil Rights Act, the Fourteenth Amendment, and Johnson's impeachment. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about Andrew Johnson, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a lessons on Andrew Johnson.
Read or listen to reference entries about Andrew Johnson, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Andrew Johnson's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Andrew Johnson
by
This biography introduces readers to Andrew Johnson including his career as a tailor, early political career, and key events from Johnson's administration including Reconstruction, the Civil Rights Act, the Fourteenth Amendment, and Johnson's impeachment. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Andrew Johnson
by
Presents a biography of Andrew Johnson
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Andrew Johnson
by
Presents a biography of Andrew Johnson