Born: March 29, 1790, Charles City, Virginia
Presidential Term: 1841-1845
Three Interesting Facts (The White House):
He was the first vice president to become president following a president's death.
He was a member of the Whig party, but the Whigs expelled him from the party.
After he left office, he was part of a group that tried to create the Southern Confederacy.
Died: January 18, 1862, Richmond, Virginia
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on John Tyler.
Read or listen to reference entries about John Tyler, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore John Tyler's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
John Tyler by
This biography introduces young readers to the life of John Tyler, including his military service, early political career, and key events from Tyler's administration including his opposition to the national bank, Second Seminole War, and the Webster-Ashburton Treaty. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
John Tyler by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of John Tyler, tenth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about John Tyler. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of articles and reference materials all about John Tyler, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: John Tyler by
A biography of the Virginian who became tenth president of the United States upon the death of William Henry Harrison.
John Tyler by
Presents a biography of John Tyler