After defeating the British forces during the War of 1812, U.S. soldiers raised an American flat at Ft. McHenry on September 14, 1814. Francis Scott Key, who was a poet, wrote a poem called "Defense of Fort M'Henry" about the flag being raised after the attack at Fort McHenry. His poem became "The Star Spangled Banner."
Source: usa.gov
The Star-Spangled Banner
O say can you see, by the dawn’s early light,
What so proudly we hail’d at the twilight’s last gleaming,
Whose broad stripes and bright stars through the perilous fight
O’er the ramparts we watch’d were so gallantly streaming?
And the rocket’s red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there,
O say does that star-spangled banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?
On the shore dimly seen through the mists of the deep
Where the foe’s haughty host in dread silence reposes,
What is that which the breeze, o’er the towering steep,
As it fitfully blows, half conceals, half discloses?
Now it catches the gleam of the morning’s first beam,
In full glory reflected now shines in the stream,
’Tis the star-spangled banner - O long may it wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!
And where is that band who so vauntingly swore,
That the havoc of war and the battle’s confusion
A home and a Country should leave us no more?
Their blood has wash’d out their foul footstep’s pollution.
No refuge could save the hireling and slave
From the terror of flight or the gloom of the grave,
And the star-spangled banner in triumph doth wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.
O thus be it ever when freemen shall stand
Between their lov’d home and the war’s desolation!
Blest with vict’ry and peace may the heav’n rescued land
Praise the power that hath made and preserv’d us a nation!
Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
And this be our motto - “In God is our trust,”
And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.
Francis Scott Key's Star-Spangled Banner
by
Francis Scott Key was a very busy man. He and his wife had 11 children. He was a lawyer and many people came to him for advice. But whenever he had a moment, he would jot down a line of poetry. He loved writing poems. When the War of 1812 broke out, Francis became even busier. He was well-respected and often called upon to help keep the peace as the war between the United States and England raged on. One fateful night Francis and his friend helped talk the British Navy into releasing a prisoner of war. But they couldn't return home just yet because the Battle of Fort McHenry was starting! If the British captured the fort, America might very well lose its independence. Francis and his friends could only sit on a boat and observe the battle. For 25 hours they watched in awe. What Francis saw inspired him to write a poem that would become America's national anthem! This Step 3 reader is perfect for children who are ready to read independently.
Our National Anthem
by
If you love your country, sing! Since 1931, "The Star-Spangled Banner" has been the national anthem of the United States. Journey back to 1814, and join Francis Scott Key, the man who wrote the words to the anthem, for a close look at this song of freedom.
The Star-Spangled Banner (with easy sheet music)
by
"Oh say can you see?" are some of the most recognizable words of the United States' national anthem. Whenever they are heard, people can't help but chime in or stand at attention with hands over hearts. This song originally commemorated a battle fought in 1814 during the War of 1812, but over the centuries it has evolved into a song that describes a nation. Complete with easy-to-read sheet music kids can play from, this book details the history of the "Star-Spangled Banner," its creators, and its journey to becoming the essential patriotic tune it is today.
The Star Spangled Banner in Translation
by
Explains the Star Spangled Banner in a way kids can understand, with the primary-source document side by side with the explanation. Also includes context and Why Should You Care? feature.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
The National Anthem
by
Most Americans know the famous words and tune of "The Star-Spangled Banner." This national anthem was born from one man's experience during war and continues to remind us of the perseverance and strength of the United States. The symbolism of the national anthem is palpable in the story of Francis Scott Key's experience at Fort McHenry. Readers learn the story of Key's immortal words through engaging historical content.
The Star-Spangled Banner
by
Three cheers for the red-white-and-blue in this Smithsonian nonfiction reader! The original Star-Spangled Banner that flew over Fort McHenry, Baltimore, in 1814 and inspired Francis Scott Key to write the words that would become the national anthem of the United States is the showpiece of the Smithsonian! In this lively nonfiction book, young readers will read about the story behind the flag, the song, and how the Smithsonian cares for this most precious national treasure.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about the national anthem. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Can You Sing the Star-Spangled Banner?
by
It's time for music class! Are you ready to sing the national anthem? Do you know the story behind this famous song? It tells about how the American flag survived a battle. Join Ms. Hill's class as they learn who wrote "The Star-Spangled Banner," what the words mean, and why we sing it.
Star-Spangled
by
The little-known and inspiring story behind the national anthem and the stars and stripes "O say can you see" begins one of the most recognizable songs in the US. Originally a poem by Francis Scott Key, the national anthem tells the story of the American flag rising high above a fort after a night of intense battle during the War of 1812. But there is much more to the story than what is sung at ball games. What was this battle about? Whose bombs were bursting, and why were rockets glaring? Who sewed those broad stripes and bright stars? Why were free black soldiers fighting on both sides? Who was Francis Scott Key anyway, and how did he end up with such a close view? Star-Spangled tells the whole story from the perspectives of different real players-both American and British-of this obscure but important battle from American history. The book includes an author's note, a timeline, a glossary, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about the national anthem, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
America's National Anthem
by
This A-Z encyclopedia is a one-stop resource for understanding the history and evolution of the national anthem in American politics, culture, and mythology, as well as controversies surrounding its emergence as a lightning rod for political protests and statements. This reference work serves as a comprehensive resource for understanding all aspects of the national anthem and its significance in U.S. history and American life and culture. It covers the origins of the song and its selection as the nation's official anthem and acknowledges other musical compositions proposed as national anthems. It discusses famous performances of the anthem and details laws and court decisions related to its performance, and it also explains notable phrases in its lyrics, describes the meaning of the national anthem to different demographic groups, and surveys presentations and celebrations of "The Star-Spangled Banner" in popular culture. Moreover, it summarizes famous political protests undertaken during renditions of the national anthem, from the Black Power salutes by U.S. athletes during the 1968 Olympics to the kneeling protests undertaken by Colin Kaepernick and other NFL players to bring attention to racial inequality in America.