Born: July 14, 1913, Omaha, Nebraska
Presidential Term: 1974-1977
Three Interesting Facts (history.com):
He legally changed his name from Leslie Lynch King, Jr. to Gerald R. Ford, Jr. because his was close with his stepfather.
The Green Bay Packers and the Detroit Lion both offered him positions on their teams, but he turned them down to be an assistant football coach at Yale.
He was the only president to never be elected as president or vice president.
Died: December 26, 2006, Rancho Mirage, California
Gerald Ford
by
This biography introduces readers to Gerald Ford, including his early political career and key events from Ford's administration including the Watergate scandal and the Vietnam War. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Gerald R. Ford
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Gerald R. Ford, thirty-eighth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Gerald R. Ford
by
In the aftermath of the Watergate scandal of the 1970s, then Vice President Gerald R. Ford became the first person to succeed a president who had resigned from office. Although Ford's presidency lasted only three years, he worked diligently to heal a country from war, inflation, and controversy. In 1948 Gerald Ford had been elected to the U. S. Congress, where he served with distinction for twenty-five years. In 1973 Vice President Spiro Agnew was forced to resign, and Ford was appointed to that office. When President Richard Nixon resigned a short time later, Ford became the first president who was not officially elected to the office. Ford is largely credited with restoring the country's faith in the presidency after a tumultuous decade. Book jacket.
Young Jerry Ford
by
Rare has been the president whose life blended the individual drive that propels one to high office with the social responsibility of being an exemplary person. Gerald R. Ford (1913-2006) was one of those rare men. In this biography Hendrik Booraem traces the early life of Gerald Ford in Grand Rapids, Michigan, to his high school graduation in 1931, showing how he developed the outlook and ideals that he brought to the White House. Ford's childhood offers telling glimpses of family and school, sports and recreation, and Western Michigan life in the Jazz Age and the Depression. Amply illustrated with photos from the 1920s and '30s, Young Jerry Ford shows the 38th President of the United States in a new and colorful light.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Gerald Ford. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Gerald Ford, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Gerald R. Ford
by
In the aftermath of the Watergate scandal of the 1970s, then Vice President Gerald R. Ford became the first person to succeed a president who had resigned from office. Although Ford's presidency lasted only three years, he worked diligently to heal a country from war, inflation, and controversy. In 1948 Gerald Ford had been elected to the U. S. Congress, where he served with distinction for twenty-five years. In 1973 Vice President Spiro Agnew was forced to resign, and Ford was appointed to that office. When President Richard Nixon resigned a short time later, Ford became the first president who was not officially elected to the office. Ford is largely credited with restoring the country's faith in the presidency after a tumultuous decade. Book jacket.
Read or listen to reference entries about Gerald Ford, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Gerald Ford's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Gerald R. Ford
by
Presents a biography of Gerald R. Ford
Truth and Honor
by
When Gerald Ford became president after the turmoil of the early 70s, Americans were ready for an honest, hardworking politician. And that is just what they got with President Ford. He was a man of integrity and honesty, who cared deeply about all Americans. His life, tougher than some and filled with character-building lessons, had prepared him for the job--from his childhood in Grand Rapids, Michigan to his days on the University of Michigan football team and in the Navy to his many years representing the Great Lakes State in congress. In Truth and Honor learn what made Gerald Ford the right man for the job. Backmatter includes a letter from the Ford family and a timeline.