What Do the Parts of the Flag Mean? from usa.gov
The flag of the United States is a symbol of freedom before which Americans recite the pledge of allegiance.
The flag's 13 red and white stripes represent the 13 original colonies. Its 50 white stars on a blue background represent the 50 states.
Each of the colors on the flag has a meaning:
A star is added to the flag when a new state joins the United States. The flag was last modified on July 4, 1960, when Hawaii was incorporated as a state.
The Flag's Nickname from cia.gov
"Old Glory"
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about the United States flag. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
I Pledge Allegiance to the Flag by
The American flag is a symbol for freedom and unity. In this engaging nonfiction title, young readers learn a brief history of the American flag and are encouraged to learn and recite the Pledge of Allegiance.
Star-Spangled by
The little-known and inspiring story behind the national anthem and the stars and stripes "O say can you see" begins one of the most recognizable songs in the US. Originally a poem by Francis Scott Key, the national anthem tells the story of the American flag rising high above a fort after a night of intense battle during the War of 1812. But there is much more to the story than what is sung at ball games. What was this battle about? Whose bombs were bursting, and why were rockets glaring? Who sewed those broad stripes and bright stars? Why were free black soldiers fighting on both sides? Who was Francis Scott Key anyway, and how did he end up with such a close view? Star-Spangled tells the whole story from the perspectives of different real players-both American and British-of this obscure but important battle from American history. The book includes an author's note, a timeline, a glossary, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.
Why Are There Stripes on the American Flag? by
Do you know why the US flag has stars and stripes on it? What does the flag stand for, and why do we say the Pledge of Allegiance? Join Mr. Gomez's class as they study the flag to find out! They'll learn when the first American flag was made, what the Pledge of Allegiance means, and why we still honor the flag today.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about the United States flag, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
The American Flag
by
Flags are so everywhere, so ever-present that we often barely notice them. But focused through a collector's vision and a photographer's eye, the gold old red, white, and blue brings a smile, a memory, a tear and a lump to our throats. The flag is more than a symbol; it is art, and here we 200 artist's and designer's renditions of the ultimate symbol of freedom. Mary Emmerling, décor expert, style maker, and queen of antiques fairs and festivals, is the author of more than 30 books on American country decorating and collecting. Her most recent books (done with Jim Arndt) include Art of the Buckle, Art of the Heart and Art of the Skull. She lives in Scottsdale, Arizona. Reed Davis lives in Los Angeles
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Betsy Ross and the U. S. Flag
by
Betsy Ross made many flags during the American Revolution, but did she sew the first flag? Infographics, leveled text, and primary sources help readers follow the fact and fiction found in this tale of stars and stripes.
My Flag
by
Young Readers Learn About The U.S. Flag Through Simple Text And Photos.
The U. S. Flag
by
The U.S. flag has stood as a symbol of freedom since America was founded. Using primary sources, young readers hear the story behind this treasured symbol from the people who were there. Engaging text, colorful photos, sidebars, and a variety of primary sources introduce readers to the U.S. flag.
The U. S. Flag
by
The American flag flies from government buildings, schools, and often from homes. Great care is taken with it, and if anything happens to a U.S. flag, outrage often follows. While readers are likely familiar with saying the Pledge of Allegiance and celebrating Flag Day each June, they may not know why stars were added or what the colors of the flag have meant throughout U.S. history. The main content of this valuable addition to a social studies library covers both the historical and symbolic background of the American flag. Full-color photographs of flags through the years help readers understand its great significance through many eras.
I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation, under God, indivisible with liberty and justice for all.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on the United States flag.
I Pledge Allegiance, 2nd Edition by
In this inspiring and relevant book, discover how "The Pledge of Allegiance" has become one of the enduring symbols of America's pride. In 1888, a children's magazine announced that a new holiday--Columbus Day--would begin in 1892, on which the American flag would be raised to celebrate the founding of America. As the flag was raised, children would say something to honor it. What resulted was a simple one-line poem that became known as "The Pledge of Allegiance." after more than a hundred years, the poem has changed very little, and is still recited in classrooms across America.
Our American Flag by
Our American Flag was written to inspire minds of all ages, to see the symbols of America, and to learn and understand why it is so important that every generation learns the details and meanings of our flag. Let this book be a spark, a beginning, a way to enhance your patriotism.
Our American Flag by
Its stars and stripes ripple and wave. It's the United States flag, and Americans have flown it for more than 200 years. Join seamstress Mary Pickersgill for a trip through time to see how this symbol of freedom came to be.
The Pledge of Allegiance by
Many kids say the Pledge of Allegiance every day in school. But what does it mean and where did it come from? Francis Bellamy wrote it more than 100 years ago. Join Bellamy in The Pledge of Allegiance for more of the story.
U. S. Flag by
Known as the stars and stripes, learn about the significance of the U.S. flag, its historic past, and why it is a great symbol of the United States of America.
The United States Flag by
In 1777, the United States flag had just 13 stars and stripes. How Old Glory has grown since then! Today, the flag flies over schools, libraries, government buildings, and more. Young readers will learn the flag's symbolism and origins in this patriotic title.
The United States Flag - CD + Book by
Children are taught to respect the symbols of America from their first day of school. The United States Flag provides teachers an easy-to-read picture book explaining the creation, history, and meaning of the symbol that represents our nation's bravery and freedom.
Read or listen to reference entries about the United States flag, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the flag. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.