The U.S. Constitution is the document that explains how the federal government works. It was written in 1787 and ratified, or agreed upon, in 1788. It went into effect in 1789. The U.S. Constitution begins by talking about how the government is designed to serve its citizens, and then it describes how there are three branches of government to separate and balance power. Learn more about those branches -- the executive, legislative, and judicial branches -- on additional tabs in this LibGuide.
We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.
This Is Our Constitution
by
From Gold Star father, beloved Democratic National Convention speaker,and 2022 Presidential Medal of Freedom recipientKhizr Khan comes a book for young people about the Constitution-what it says and why it matters for everyone. Our Founding Fathers created the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights as a blueprint for American government and the rights of American citizens. This document is not merely a piece of parchment but a living, breathing promise of our deepest democratic values. Khizr Khan grew up in Pakistan, with few of the fundamental rights that are enshrined in the Constitution. He immigrated to America and became a citizen, raising his family to appreciate and honor all our nation has to offer. Khizr Khan is deeply passionate about the Constitution- the guarantees and protections it provides for each and every person and the beacon of light it shines throughout the world. This Is Our Constitutionis a personal journey that Khizr Khan is taking with our nation's young people. The book includes- *A highly personal introduction and conclusion * Notes throughout that share Khizr Khan's reflections on and connections to the U.S. Constitution *The fascinating history of why and how the Constitution was written *Article by article and section by section, an easy-to-follow explanation of what the Constitution means * A closer look at key amendments, including the Bill of Rights, and pivotal Supreme Court decisions * The complete texts of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution This is a book about why the Constitution matters to you, and us all.
What Is the Constitution?
by
We the people at Who HQ bring readers the full story--arguments and all--of how the United States Constitution came into being. Signed on September 17, 1787--four years after the American War for Independence--the Constitution laid out the supreme law of the United States of America. Today it's easy for us to take this blueprint of our government for granted. But the Framers--fifty-five men from almost all of the original 13 states--argued fiercely for many months over what ended up being only a four-page document. Here is a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the hotly fought issues--those between Northern and Southern States; big states and little ones--and the key players such as James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington who suffered through countless revisions to make the Constitution happen.
Hoopla offers a large selection of ebooks, audiobooks and even comic books explaining the U.S. Constitution. Below is a sample of available titles.
The Constitution Decoded
by
Be an active citizen. Know your Constitution! Ever wonder why the president has a Cabinet? Why there's such thing as trial by jury? Why someday you'll have to pay income tax, or why there are no Dukes, Duchesses, Counts, or Countesses in the United States? Because the Constitution says so--and so much more. And now, in The Constitution Decoded, the ideas, concepts, and rules that make America are unpacked and explained in detail to help all of us, kids and parents too, become more informed citizens. Written with impeccable clarity and illustrated in a style that brings America's early days to life, this fascinating guide goes through the Constitution literally word by word, sentence by sentence, and idea by idea to give readers a true understanding of not only how the Framers envisioned the United States, but also why they made the choices they did. Here's why, for example, the United States has three branches of government--legislative, executive, and judicial. It explains how bills become laws, why we have the right to free speech, how we can change the Constitution as our country evolves, and so much more. Packed with historical context and figures, vocabulary, anecdotes, and trivia, this book is an accessible yet richly layered work that belongs in every family library.
Creating the Constitution 1787
by
History is dramatic -- and the renowned, award-winning authors Christopher Collier and James Lincoln Collier demonstrate this in this compelling series aimed at young readers. Covering American history from the founding of Jamestown through present day, these volumes explore far beyond the dates and events of a historical chronicle to present a moving illumination of the ideas, opinions, attitudes and tribulations that led to the birth of this great nation.
History Tipsters Break down the U. S. Constitution
by
The history of the United States goes back hundreds of years. In that time, the country has changed and grown a great deal. But it all began with one document. Follow historical figures in this graphic novel as they break down the U.S. Constitution and get the juiciest tips on how the document--and the nation--has changed over time.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of patriotic lessons to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of Constitution lessons.
LearningExpress Library offers middle school students quizzes and an ebook about the Constitution to help prepare for school tests. To access these learning materials, you must create a free account with LearningExpress Library. Then under the Public Library tab, select Grade 4-8 Educator Resources>Middle School>American History Practice.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about the Constitution. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials about the document as well as biographies about the people who wrote it.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Documents of Freedom
by
What are the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights, and the U.S. Constitution? They're important documents that helped to shape our country. But what's the story behind how these documents were created? And what exactly do they say? Read this book to find out.
Discover ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about the Constitution, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
The Men Who Made the Constitution
by
Few events in the history of the United States were of greater consequence than the Constitutional Convention of 1787. Although most histories have focused on the issues and compromises that dominated the debates, the exchanges were also shaped by the dynamic personalities of the fifty-five delegates who attended from twelve of the thirteen states. In The Men Who Made the Constitution, constitutional scholar John R. Vileexplores the lives and contributions of all delegates to the 1787 Constitutional Convention, including those who left before the Convention ended and those who stayed until the last day but refused to sign. Each biography records the delegate's birth, education, previous positions or public service roles, homes, family life, life after the Convention, death, and resting place. Drawing directly from Convention debates and a vast array of secondary sources, Vile covers the positions of each delegate at the Convention on both major and minor issues and describes his service on committees and afterward at state ratification conventions. The Men Who Made the Constitution includes a bibliography of key sources, engravings of delegates for whom portraits were created, a quiz on key facts, and a transcript of the Constitution of the United States. This work is the perfect reference for students and scholars, as well as professional and amateur historians, of colonial and early American history, constitutional law, and American jurisprudence.
The People’s Constitution: 200 Years, 27 Amendments, and the Promise of a More Perfect Union
by
The 233-year story of how the American people have taken an imperfect constitution—the product of compromises and an artifact of its time—and made it more democratic Who wrote the Constitution? That's obvious, we think: fifty-five men in Philadelphia in 1787. But much of the Constitution was actually written later, in a series of twenty-seven amendments enacted over the course of two centuries. The real history of the Constitution is the astonishing story of how subsequent generations have reshaped our founding document amid some of the most colorful, contested, and controversial battles in American political life. It's a story of how We the People have improved our government's structure and expanded the scope of our democracy during eras of transformational social change. The People's Constitution is an elegant, sobering, and masterly account of the evolution of American democracy. From the addition of the Bill of Rights, a promise made to save the Constitution from near certain defeat, to the post–Civil War battle over the Fourteenth Amendment, from the rise and fall of the “noble experiment” of Prohibition to the defeat and resurgence of an Equal Rights Amendment a century in the making, The People's Constitution is the first book of its kind: a vital guide to America's national charter, and an alternative history of the continuing struggle to realize the Framers' promise of a more perfect union.
A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution
by
The Constitution is not so simple that it explains itself--nor so complex that only experts can understand it. In this accessible, nonpartisan quick reference, historian Andrew Arnold provides concise explanations of the Constitution's meaning and history, offering little-known facts and anecdotes about every article and all twenty-seven amendments. This handy guide won't tell you what the Constitution ought to say, nor what it ought to mean. It will tell you what the Constitution says and what it has meant. A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution presents a straightforward way to understand the American Constitutional system. Without wading through lengthy legal prose, heavy historical analysis, or polemical diatribes, you can easily find out what the emoluments clause means, learn about gerrymandering and separation of powers, or read a brief background on why slaves in colonial America were considered 3/5 of a person. Small enough to put in your pocket, backpack, or briefcase, A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution can be used to comprehend current events, dig deeper into court cases, or sort out your own opinions on constitutional issues.
U. S. Constitution
by
Where did the American democratic tradition begin? From ancient civilizations in Greece and Rome to the Enlightenment in Europe, democratic ideas throughout time have influenced the development of democracy in the United States. InThe U.S. Constitution: Discover How Democracy Works, children ages 9 through 12 learn about the foundation of democracy and how the documents crafted hundreds of years ago still have an impact on our country today. They explore the Declaration of Independence, U.S. Constitution, and the Bill of Rights, among others. These documents provide a framework with which we make the laws and processes that help keep democracy a vital paradigm. Through hands-on projects, which include analyzing how the promises made in the Preamble of the Constitution were put into practice and investigating how to balance the freedom of speech in the digital age, students investigate how American democracy operates. With colorful illustrations, interesting sidebars, and links to online primary sources, this book asks readers to consider the effect of technology on democracy and make predictions about future documents that will be important to thepreservation of democracy around the world.
Women and the U. S. Constitution
by
Women and the U.S. Constitution is about much more than the nineteenth amendment. This provocative volume incorporates law, history, political theory, and philosophy to analyze the U.S. Constitution as a whole in relation to the rights and fate of women. Divided into three parts--History, Interpretation, and Practice--this book views the Constitution as a living document, struggling to free itself from the weight of a two-hundred-year-old past and capable of evolving to include women and their concerns. Feminism lacks both a constitutional theory as well as a clearly defined theory of political legitimacy within the framework of democracy. The scholars included here take significant and crucial steps toward these theories. In addition to constitutional issues such as federalism, gender discrimination, basic rights, privacy, and abortion, Women and the U.S. Constitution explores other issues of central concern to contemporary women--areas that, strictly speaking, are not yet considered a part of constitutional law. Women's traditional labor and its unique character, and women and the welfare state, are two examples of topics treated here from the perspective of their potentially transformative role in the future development of constitutional law.
Read or listen to reference entries about the Constitution, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles.
The Constitution Decoded
by
Be an active citizen. Know your Constitution! Ever wonder why the president has a Cabinet? Why there's such thing as trial by jury? Why someday you'll have to pay income tax, or why there are no Dukes, Duchesses, Counts, or Countesses in the United States? Because the Constitution says so--and so much more. And now, in The Constitution Decoded, the ideas, concepts, and rules that make America are unpacked and explained in detail to help all of us, kids and parents too, become more informed citizens. Written with impeccable clarity and illustrated in a style that brings America's early days to life, this fascinating guide goes through the Constitution literally word by word, sentence by sentence, and idea by idea to give readers a true understanding of not only how the Framers envisioned the United States, but also why they made the choices they did. Here's why, for example, the United States has three branches of government--legislative, executive, and judicial. It explains how bills become laws, why we have the right to free speech, how we can change the Constitution as our country evolves, and so much more. Packed with historical context and figures, vocabulary, anecdotes, and trivia, this book is an accessible yet richly layered work that belongs in every family library.
Creating the Constitution
by
Explores the creation of the Constitution. Authoritative text, colorful illustrations, illuminating sidebars, and a "Voices from the Past" feature make this book an exciting and informative read.
What Does the Constitution Say? (Kids Edition)
by
The Constitution is one of the most important documents you've probably have never read. What Does the Constitution Say? breaks down this guidebook to American democracy with fun facts, cool illustrations, and even hilarious jokes to help you understand how our government really works. Written more than 230 years ago, the Constitution can be hard to understand, even for adults. But it also gives you the info you need to make our country the best it can be. What Does the Constitution Say? takes you on a tour of the whole Constitution while explaining what all of its fancy words really mean. From the Preamble to the 7 Articles to the 27 Amendments (so far), this fun-to-read guide is packed with bite-sized pieces of info, historic quotes, and graphics on important topics such as: * Why the Constitution is a "living document" * How the first attempt at a constitution (the Articles of Confederation) failed * What powers the president does (and doesn't) have * Key figures like James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and George Washington * A bonus section on the Declaration of Independence * And so much more! Written with wit and humor, What Does the Constitution Say? will educate and empower you to know your rights, be an informed citizen of your community and country, and one day become an effective voter.