"The Statue of Liberty is a majestic copper sculpture that towers above Liberty Island at the entrance to New York Harbor in Upper New York Bay. This famous figure of a robed woman holding a torch is one of the largest statues ever built. The statue's complete name is Liberty Enlightening the World.
The people of France gave the Statue of Liberty to the people of the United States in 1884. This gift was an expression of friendship and of the ideal of liberty shared by both peoples. French citizens donated the money to build the statue, and people in the United States raised the funds to construct the foundation and the pedestal (base). The French sculptor Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi designed the statue and chose its site.
The Statue of Liberty is a monumental feat of sculpture, engineering, and architecture. It attracts visitors from all over the world. The Statue of Liberty and a former immigration station at Ellis Island make up the Statue of Liberty National Monument, which is administered by the National Park Service."
Let Liberty Rise!: How America's Schoolchildren Helped Save the Statue of Liberty
by
How did 121,000 Americans save their most beloved icon? Here is an inspiring story about the power we have when we all work together! * "This charming history title is a true inspiration for the present. An informative must-have for all libraries." -- School Library Journal, starred review "All rise to this evocative, empowering offering." -- Kirkus Reviews "[A] true tale of cooperation among all ages." -- Publishers Weekly On America's 100th birthday, the people of France built a giant gift! It was one of the largest statues the world had ever seen -- and she weighed as much as 40 elephants! And when she arrived on our shores in 250 pieces, she needed a pedestal to hold her up. Few of America's millionaires were willing to foot the bill. Then, Joseph Pulitzer (a poor Hungarian immigrant-cum-newspaper mogul) appealed to his fellow citizens. He invited them to contribute whatever they could, no matter how small an amount, to raise funds to mount this statue. The next day, pennies, nickels, dimes, and quarters poured in. Soon, Pulitzer's campaign raised enough money to construct the pedestal. And with the help of everyday Americans (including many thousands of schoolchildren!) the Statue of Liberty rose skyward, torch ablaze, to welcome new immigrants for a life of freedom and opportunity! Chana Stiefel's charming and immediate writing style is perfectly paired with Chuck Groenink's beautiful, slyly humorous illustrations. Back matter with photographs included.
Saving Lady Liberty
by
Here is the story of how the Statue of Liberty got its pedestal when Joseph Pulitzer, a Jewish immigrant and famous newsman, created one of the first American crowdfunding campaigns to raise money for it. When Joseph Pulitzer first saw the Statue of Liberty's head in Paris, he shared sculptor Auguste Bartholdi's dream of seeing France's gift of friendship stand in the New York harbor. Pulitzer loved words, and the word he loved best was liberty. Frustrated that many, especially wealthy New Yorkers, were not interested in paying for the statue's needed pedestal, Pulitzer used his newspaper, the New York World, to call on all Americans to contribute. Claudia Friddell's text and Stacy Innerst's illustrations capture this inspiring story of how one immigrant brought together young and old, rich and poor, to raise funds for the completion of a treasured national monument.
The Statue of Liberty
by
Relates the construction of the Statue of Liberty and its importance as a symbol of freedom.
The Statue of Liberty
by
Visit the Statue of Liberty as Newbery Honor recipient and New York Times bestselling author Marion Dane Bauer takes you on a tour of one of our country's greatest treasures in this Level 1 Ready-to-Read. For many years the Statue of Liberty was the first American sight for many immigrants. Read on to find out how she came to stand in New York Harbor.
What Is the Statue of Liberty?
by
In 1876, France decided to give the United States a very big and very special present--the Statue of Liberty. The gift was to commemorate the 100th birthday of the United States, and just packing it was no small feat--350 pieces in 214 crates shipped across the ocean. The story of how the 111-foot-tall lady took her place in the New York Harbor will fascinate young readers.
The Statue of Liberty
by
The Statue of Liberty is the tallest woman in the United States and one of the country's most beloved symbols of freedom. Listen as park ranger Jeanetta tells the amazing story of Lady Liberty's journey in 1885 from France to New York Harbor.
The Statue of Liberty
by
Feel the power of Lady Liberty! The Statue of Liberty is an awesome visual journey that begins with the fantastic proposal of a French professor to give the United States a monument to commemorate the Revolutionary War alliance between the 13 colonies and France. It documents the gift's taking symbolic form of the ancient goddess of liberty and its designation as the tallest metal statue in the world. Highlights include Liberty's construction history, her changing symbolism over the years, and her use in popular advertising and political activism. Her upraised arm has saluted scores of ships as they have passed by. See how her dignity has welcomed Americans returning home from foreign parts and has given hope to newcomers seeking a fresh beginning in the land of liberty.
The Story of the Statue of Liberty
by
This book relays the factual details behind the building and gift of the Statue of Liberty. The narrative provides multiple accounts of the event, and readers learn details from the point of view of a U.S. harbor worker, a French artisan, and a U.S. Reporter. This book offers opportunities to compare and contrast various perspectives in a text while gathering and analyzing information about an historical event.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about the Statue of Liberty. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
The Copper Lady
by
The boat creaked and moaned as the storm's waves smashed into the ship. Down in the hold, Andre, sat between crates that held the great copper lady, the Statue of Liberty. They were on their way to America, but would the storm that raged prevent them from getting there? Given to the people of the United States in 1885 by the people of France as a symbol of friendship between the two countries, the Statue of Liberty has come to symbolize freedom, liberty, and hope to all that see her. In this thrilling tale, learn what might have happened during the statue's stormy trip to America.
The Statue of Liberty
by
Have you ever seen an eye the size of a doorway? What about a finger bigger than a grown-up? Get ready to check out the Statue of Liberty! This statue stands for American freedom. Just whose idea was the Statue of Liberty? And how did workers put it together? Read this book to find out. Learn about many remarkable sites in the Famous Places series--part of the Lightning Bolt Books(tm) collection. With high-energy designs, exciting photos, and fun text, Lightning Bolt Books(tm) bring nonfiction topics to life.
Why Is the Statue of Liberty Green?
by
Do you know that the Statue of Liberty hasn't always looked green? Or that the first torch had to be replaced? Lady Liberty has been an important US symbol for more than one hundred years. Join Mrs. Bolt's class as they visit the statue and learn where the statue came from, how she was built, and what American ideas she represents.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about the Statue of Liberty, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Enlightening the World
by
Conceived in the aftermath of the American Civil War and the grief that swept France over the assassination of Abraham Lincoln, the Statue of Liberty has been a potent symbol of the nation's highest ideals since it was unveiled in 1886. Dramatically situated on Bedloe's Island (now Liberty Island) in the harbor of New York City, the statue has served as a reminder for generations of immigrants of America's long tradition as an asylum for the poor and the persecuted. Although it is among the most famous sculptures in the world, the story of its creation is little known. In Enlightening the World, Yasmin Sabina Khan provides a fascinating new account of the design of the statue and the lives of the people who created it, along with the tumultuous events in France and the United States that influenced them. Khan's narrative begins on the battlefields of Gettysburg, where Lincoln framed the Civil War as a conflict testing whether a nation "conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal... can long endure." People around the world agreed with Lincoln that this question--and the fate of the Union itself--affected the "whole family of man." Inspired by the Union's victory and stunned by Lincoln's death, Édouard-René Lefebvre de Laboulaye, a legal scholar and noted proponent of friendship between his native France and the United States, conceived of a monument to liberty and the exemplary form of government established by the young nation. For Laboulaye and all of France, the statue would be called La Liberté Éclairant le Monde--Liberty Enlightening the World. Following the statue's twenty-year journey from concept to construction, Khan reveals in brilliant detail the intersecting lives that led to the realization of Laboulaye's dream: the Marquis de Lafayette; Alexis de Tocqueville; the sculptor Auguste Bartholdi, whose commitment to liberty and self-government was heightened by his experience of the Franco-Prussian War; the architect Richard Morris Hunt, the first American to study architecture at the prestigious École des Beaux-Arts in Paris; and the engineer Gustave Eiffel, who pushed the limits for large-scale metal construction. Also here are the contributions of such figures as Senators Charles Sumner and Carl Schurz, the artist John La Farge, the poet Emma Lazarus, and the publisher Joseph Pulitzer. While exploring the creation of the statue, Khan points to possible sources--several previously unexamined--for the design. She links the statue's crown of rays with Benjamin Franklin's image of the rising sun and makes a clear connection between the broken chain under Lady Liberty's foot and the abolition of slavery. Through the rich story of this remarkable national monument, Enlightening the World celebrates both a work of human accomplishment and the vitality of liberty.
Read or listen to reference entries about the Statue of Liberty, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the statue. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on the Statue of Liberty.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles.
The Statue of Liberty
by
Readers will learn about the history of the Statue of Liberty and everything from how tall Lady Liberty is and what she's made out of to the significance of the tablet she's holding. The title is complete with historical and modern images, bolded glossary terms, a More Facts page, and a picture glossary. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Abdo Kids Junior is an imprint of Abdo Kids, a division of ABDO.
The Statue of Liberty (Cornerstones of Freedom: Third Series) (Library Edition)
by
Learn about the events that made America what she is today.Standing at the entrance to New York Harbor, the Statue of Liberty welcomed millions of immigrants to the United States early in the twentieth century. To people all over the world it is a symbol of freedom and friendship. How and why was this magnificent statue built? In this book readers will learn the fascinating story behind the statue's creation.
Statue of Liberty (DVD)
by
Filmmaker Ken Burns presents the definitive portrait of this great lady of the American imagination, in a program that won nominations for both an Academy Award and an Emmy. Follow her life, from her creation by French sculptor Auguste Bartholdi, through her painstaking construction and accident-prone dedication in 1886. Interviews with ordinary Americans reveal a deep understanding of the unique place the statue holds in our hearts.