Born: October 30, 1735, Braintree (now Quincy), Massachusetts
Presidential Term: 1797-1801
Three Interesting Facts (history.com):
In 1779, he founded the American Academy for Arts and Sciences, which still exists today.
He thought the president should be addressed as "His Highness" or "His Majesty."
He was the main author of the Massachusetts Constitution, which is still used today. It became a model for the U.S. Constitution.
Died: July 4, 1826, Quincy, Massachusetts
John Adams
by
Graphic Planet is bringing the Presidents of the United States to BioGraphics! World-class art presents young readers a pictorial chronology of John Adams's life, background on his campaign to be president, major influences on the country, and his influence on history. A timeline, Fast Facts, the president's cabinet, and a glossary provide report information for young readers. Bring the Oval Office to your classroom!
John Adams
by
John Adams was a successful lawyer in Boston when he found himself drawn into the colonial quest for liberty from Britain. Despite defending the British soldiers involved in the Boston Massacre, Adams ended up taking a leadership role in rallying the people to fight for their independence. As the new government found its legs, Adams found himself the first Vice President of the United States. He would go on to become President before retiring to live with his wife Abigail. Readers will find the birth of our nation a compelling story as it is seen through the lens of John Adams' life, and presented in graphic novel form.
The Life and Times of John Adams
by
2011 Updated Reprint. Updated Annually. Panama Government and Business Contacts Handbook
The Revolutionary John Adams
by
John Adams comes to vivid life for young readers in this addition to Harness's acclaimed presidential picture-biographies. Dynamic artwork and lively narrative create a warm, personable portrait of the stubborn man from Braintree, Massachusetts, whose passion for liberty spurred him on to extraordinary roles as a Founding Father, first Vice President, and second President of the United States. Through Adams's eyes, kids witness the tension-enflamed streets of Boston, the bickering Continental Congress, the complexities of waging the War for Independence, and the challenges of governing a new nation. Vivid quotes from both John and Abigail Adams provide great primary source material for school reports, and three illustrated maps show readers where key events took place.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about John Adams. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about John Adams, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Biographies of the American Revolution
by
Rejecting British authority and profoundly committed to the principles of liberty and justice in the land they called home, American colonists from all walks of life answered the resounding cry for independence. They gave voice to the ideals in which they so passionately believed. The agents of the American Revolution included soldiers and generals who fought on the frontlines, statesmen who fought behind the scenes, and ordinary individuals who contributed what they could to the cause of freedom. Your readers will discover some of the notable military and political leaders of Revolution as well as some of the lesser-known figures instrumental to securing the country's future. Subject entries include Crispus Attucks, Artemas Ward, Ethan Allen, Molly Pitcher, and Deborah Samson. A rich offering of detailed photographs and illustrations support this thrilling biographical narrative.
How to Analyze the Works of John Adams
by
This title explores the creative works of US President John Adams. Works analyzed include the preface to A Defence of the Constitutions of Government of the United States of America, his inaugural address, his writings on women's right to vote, and his letter on Thomas Jefferson. Clear, comprehensive text gives background biographical information of Adams. The "You Critique It" feature invites readers to analyze other creative works on their own. A table of contents, timeline, list of works, resources, source notes, glossary, and an index are also included. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Read or listen to reference entries about John Adams, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore John Adams' timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: John Adams
by
John Adams was often overshadowed by the towering George Washington and the brilliant Thomas lefferson. But Adams himself played a leading role in the straggle for American independence. He was a courageous lawyer willing to defend even unpopular causes, a moving force in the Continental Congress, a brilliant diplomat who helped gain world recognition of the new United States. Then he served as the second U.S. president during a period of revolution and war in Europe and of ugly political conflict at home. He was not our most popular president, but he kept the young country out of the destructive European wars and preserved law and order at home. Only after his death did we learn more about his personal life through his diaries and through letters to and from his wife. Abigail. Book jacket.
John Adams
by
John Adams was the second president of the United States, but he was the first to move into the newly built White House. What was it like living there? Young readers will find out as they read about his presidency, as well as his early life and important role in establishing the new country. They will also make connections to their own lives as they learn about the many ways Adams is remembered and honored today. Each 24-page book in this series features controlled text with age-appropriate vocabulary and simple sentence construction. The lively text, colorful design, and rich photos and illustrations are sure to capture the interest of emergent readers.