Born: August 4, 1961, Honolulu, Hawaii
Presidential Term: 2009-2017
Three Interesting Facts (usnews.com):
He was born in Hawaii but lived in Indonesia for four years when he was little.
As a teen he worked at Baskin-Robbins, but he doesn't like ice cream.
He was the first African-American editor of the Harvard Law Review.
Died: Living
Barack Obama
by
A newly updated leveled reader about the first African American president of the United States, for children who are ready to read on their own. A Step 3 Step into Reading Biography Reader about our forty-fourth president, Barack Obama--revised to include an account of his reelection and new photographs With clear and accessible language, independent readers can learn how the lessons and love from Obama's mother and grandparents shaped him; how the places he lived influenced him; and how he turned his childhood feeling of being an outsider into a positive driving force that propelled him into the history books "From the Trade Paperback edition."
Barack Obama
by
Learn all about the life of the 44th President of the United States in this updated biography of Barack Obama, specially written for a younger audience. University Professor. Nobel Peace Prize Winner. First African American President of the United States. President Obama was born on August 4, 1961, in Honolulu, Hawaii. With relatives in Kenya, Ireland, Indonesia, and Kansas, President Obama has referred to his family as "a mini-United Nations." He attended college on both coasts, first at Occidental in California, then at Columbia in New York City. After graduating from Harvard Law School, he practiced and taught law in Chicago. In 2005 Barack started his political career when he became the senator for Illinois. President Obama was inaugurated on January 20, 2009. His many efforts in the first 100 days of his presidency earned him a Nobel Peace Prize and, in 2012, he was reelected for a second term. Originally published in 2012, this revised biography of the 44th President of the United States includes eight pages of photos as well as a timeline and index.
Dreams from My Father (Adapted for Young Adults)
by
Now adapted for young adults--the #1 New York Times bestselling memoir, which Toni Morrison called "quite extraordinary," offers an intimate look at Barack Obama's early days. This is a compelling journey tracing the future 44th president's odyssey through family, race, and identity. A revealing portrait of a young Black man asking questions about self-discovery and belonging--long before he became one of the most important voices in America. This unique edition includes a new introduction from the author, full-color photo insert, and family tree. The son of a white American mother and a Black Kenyan father, Obama was born in Hawaii, where he lived until he was six years old, when he moved with his mother and stepfather to Indonesia. At twelve, he returned to Hawaii to live with his grandparents. Obama brings readers along as he faces the challenges of high school and college, living in New York, becoming a community organizer in Chicago, and traveling to Kenya. Through these experiences, he forms an enduring commitment to leadership and justice. Told through the lens of his relationships with his family--the mother and grandparents who raised him, the father he knows more as a myth than as a man, and the extended family in Kenya he meets for the first time--Obama confronts the complicated truth of his father's life and legacy and comes to embrace his divided heritage. On his journey to adulthood from a humble background, he forges his own path through trial and error while staying connected to his roots. Barack Obama is determined to lead a life of purpose, service, and authenticity. This powerful memoir will inspire readers to examine both where they come from and where they are capable of going.
Who Is Barack Obama?
by
A latest entry in the series that renders famous historical figures accessible to primary students shares the 44th president's life story while offering insight into his achievements as a political leader.
Barack Obama
by
This title will introduce little readers to the 44th president of the United States, Barack Obama. Readers will gather basic, biographical information about Obama through easy-to-read, simple text. They'll also love the historical photographs, the More Facts section, and bolded glossary terms. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Abdo Kids is a division of ABDO.
Barack Obama
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and election of Barack Obama, forty-fourth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Barack Obama for Beginners, Presidential Edition
by
Barack Obama For Beginners: An Essential Guide is the most concise and reliable short biography available on the 44th President of the United States -- from his childhood in Hawaii and Indonesia, education at Columbia and Harvard, work as a community organizer, writer, teacher, lawyer, and politician in Illinois, to his historic campaign for President. Barack Obama For Beginners keeps the focus on the man and his record -- accomplishments and missteps, praise and criticism -- to allow readers to gain a balanced understanding of President Obama as they follow his rise to the White House. Entertaining illustrations enliven the reading experience and highlight important details.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Barack Obama. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazines, ebooks, and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Barack Obama
by
This title will introduce little readers to the 44th president of the United States, Barack Obama. Readers will gather basic, biographical information about Obama through easy-to-read, simple text. They'll also love the historical photographs, the More Facts section, and bolded glossary terms. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards. Abdo Kids is a division of ABDO.
Barack Obama
by
Begin the journey into the lives of important people in history with Beginner Biographies. These simple, illustrated biographies provide a perfect entry point for learning about history. The childhood, education, and election of President Barack Obama are presented with short, simple text for the elementary school audience. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Looking Glass Library is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO.
Barack Obama
by
This title introduces readers to Barack Obama, the forty-forth and first African-American president of the United States. This engaging biography explores Obama's childhood, education, and early career. Readers learn how he overcame challenges and what inspired him to public service. The president's first term accomplishments are reviewed, from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act to the elimination of Osama bin Laden and the end of the war in Iraq. Final chapters look forward to second-term goals including addressing climate change, equal rights, tax reform, and gun control. A timeline highlights President Obama's personal and professional journey, while hard-to-find photos and engaging text complete this up-close examination of this historic individual. A special section includes qualifications for the office of the presidency, the address to write President Obama, quick-reference table of all presidents and their terms, an explanation of the Electoral College process, the term of office, the job's benefits and perks, a diagram of the branches of government, and the line of presidential succession. A list of cabinet members and a list of Supreme Court appointments are also included. Glossary words in bold, an index, and phonetic spellings for those hard-to-pronounce terms, full-color and historic photographs, and primary source documents enhance and supplement the text. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Checkerboard Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Barack Obama, perfect for middle and high school students. Below is a sample of available titles.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Barack Obama
by
In this insightful biography, Burton I. Kaufman explores how the political career of Barack Obama was marked by conservative tendencies that frustrated his progressive supporters and gave the lie to socialist fearmongering on the right. Obama's was a landmark presidency that paradoxically, Kaufman shows, resulted in few, if any, radical shifts in policy. Following his election, President Obama's supporters and detractors anticipated radical reform. As the first African American to serve as president, he reached the White House on a campaign promise of change. But Kaufman finds in Obama clear patterns of classical conservativism of an ideological sort and basic policy-making pragmatism. His commitment to usher in a multiracial, multiethnic, and multicultural society was fundamentally connected to opening up, but not radically altering, the existing free enterprise system. The Affordable Care Act, arguably President Obama's greatest policy achievement, was a distillation of his complex motivations for policy. More conservative than radical, the ACA fitted the expansion of health insurance into the existing system. Similarly, in foreign policy, Obama eschewed the use of force to affect regime change. Yet he kept boots on the ground in the Middle East and supported ballot-box revolts geared toward achieving in foreign countries the same principles of liberalism, free enterprise, and competition that existed in the United States. In estimating the course and impact of Obama's full political life, Kaufman makes clear that both the desire for and fear of change in the American polity affected the popular perception but not the course of action of the forty-fourth US president.
Barack Obama
by
An essential resource for readers analyzing the presidency of Barack Obama, this book provides a comprehensive summary of the life of 44th president of the United States. Barack Obama stated, "Our destiny is not written for us. It is written by us." Was the former president talking about himself and his rise to the American presidency? On January 20, 2009, Barack Obama was inaugurated as the 44th president of the United States, the first African American to be elected to this office. Former President Obama's politics of unity appealed to many segments of American society. When Obama became president, the United States faced challenges at home and abroad. Internationally, the country was stalled in two wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. Domestically, the country faced a financial and banking crisis, and poverty was on the rise. Undaunted by these colossal challenges, former President Obama noted, "We did not come to fear the future. We came to shape it." Barack Obama: A Life in American History discusses the life of Barack Obama chronologically and discusses his post-presidential life. Readers of all levels with an interest in Barack Obama, politics, political parties, political ideology, presidential elections, government, and the U.S. presidency will find this book compelling.
LIFE Barack Obama
by
LIFE Barack Obama chronicles the former President's life, from his early years in Chicago to meeting Michelle and his rise in politics to the White House and beyond, as he continues to be prolific today at the age of 60. Complete with stunning, intimate photography, this special edition is a must-have for history buffs and fans of American politics.
Scholastic Teachables offers a variety of presidential lessons and clip art to supplement your classroom activities. Below is a sample of lessons on Barack Obama.
Read or listen to reference entries about Barack Obama, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Barack Obama's timeline from his birth through his retirement from the White House in World Book Timelines.
Barack Obama (National Geographic Kids Readers, Level 2)
by
What biography series is complete without a title on the current U.S. President: Barack Obama? The election of an African American president was truly a monumental day in American history. His legacy will live on as a barrier-breaker and a pioneer. Learn all about our 44th President in this fascinating leveled reader.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog. Below is a sample of available titles.
Barack Obama
by
Loaded with archival photographs and amazing facts, the DK Biography series introduces young readers to some of history's most interesting and influential characters. From his early life in Hawaii and Indonesia, to his work as a community organizer in Chicago, to his first months in the Oval Office, DK Biography: Barack Obama tells the story of the 44th president of the United States. Supports the Common Core State Standards.
Barack Obama
by
Explore the lives of some of the most important leaders and innovators in recent history with this exciting new True Book series. Fascinating text details the life stories and accomplishments of these world-changing figures, while photos provide visual context. Readers are also encouraged to think critically about these people's achievements and how they continue to affect our world today. Key Features: Clear text details the life stories of some of the most important leaders and thinkers of our time Sidebars and timelines provide context for the importance of the subjects' incredible achievements Glossaries clarify important words used in each book Photos and illustrations show how the book's subjects have grown and changed throughout their lives Additional content for further learning on this subject available at www.factsfornow.scholastic.com
Cornerstones of Freedom, Third Series: Barack Obama
by
Just how does the democratic process work? And what exactly did the Louisiana Purchase mean for our country? Packed with intriguing history and eye-catching images, Cornerstones of Freedom brings you an in-depth look at the ideas, people, and events that have made our nation what it is today.