Born: January 7, 1800, Summer Hill, New York
Presidential Term: 1850-1853
Three Interesting Facts (The White House):
He was the last president of the Whig party.
He married his school teacher, Abigail Powers.
After the Whig party ended, he became the unsuccessful presidential candidate for the Know-Nothing, or American, party.
Died: March 8, 1874, Buffalo New York
Read or listen to reference entries about Millard Fillmore, plus see the correlated Missouri Learning Standards for each article. Also, browse art featuring the president. Select articles from World Book Kids for students in grades K-5, World Book Student for students in grades 6-12, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos for students in grades K-5.
Explore Millard Fillmore's timeline from his birth through his death in World Book Timelines.
Millard Fillmore
by
A thorough, illustrated biography discussing the childhood, career, family, and term of Millard Fillmore, thirteenth president of the United States. Includes a table of contents, time line, phonetic glossary, sources for further research, an index, and detailed captions and sidebars to aid in comprehension.
Millard Fillmore
by
This biography introduces readers to Millard Fillmore, including his early political career and key events from Fillmore's administration including the Compromise of 1850 and the Treaty of Kanagawa. Information about his childhood, family, personal life, and retirement years is included. A timeline, fast facts, and sidebars provide additional information. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Big Buddy Books is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Explore a large assortment of resources designed for K-5 students to help them learn about Millard Fillmore. Explora - Elementary contains relevant articles from children's magazine and reference materials about the president.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Discover a large collection of ebooks, articles, and reference materials all about Millard Fillmore, perfect for middle and high school students.
Note: Articles can be translated into over 130 language for ESL students. When accessing articles, select Online Full Text versions rather than PDF versions when available to utilize the translation feature. Open the Online Full Text version of the article, and then click the globe icon in the top right corner to access the translation feature.
Millard Fillmore
by
Arguably our most obscure president, and generally judged mediocre at best, Millard Fillmore came to the presidency in July 1850 when his predecessor, Zachary Taylor, unexpectedly died. Despite his relative anonymity, Fillmore was thrust into the nation's greatest historical argument the great debate concerning the future of slavery in the republic. With considerable political aplomb, he helped guide the passage of the measures collectively known as the Compromise of 1850, including the sensitive and controversial Fugitive Slave Act. Rather than resolve the agitation, these measures gave way to a decade of rancorous conflict which brought about the Civil War. This interpretative study seeks to understand why this president remained anchored to a past that was no longer effective in his own time.
Use the search box below to find items in our catalog.
Encyclopedia of Presidents: Millard Fillmore
by
Millard Fillmore was a self-made man who raised himself from deep poverty to political prominence in New York State. In 1848, the Whig party nominated him for vice president on the ticket with General Zachary Taylor. When Taylor died in July 1850, Fillmore was suddenly president of a country divided on the spread of slavery to territories recently added to the United States. He threw his support behind the Compromise of 1850, then being debated in Congress, and signed it into law in 1850, hoping to end the emotional debate. Instead, the compromise was condemned by proslavery and antislavery forces alike, and Fillmore's support for it effectively ended his political career. In 1852, the Whig party refused to nominate Fillmore for the presidency. Book jacket.
Millard Fillmore
by
- Fans of Venezia's highly praised artist biography series will be drawn to this new series. - Author presents the lives of U.S. presidents in an entirely fresh way with his unique format--a blend of casual prose, historical reproductions, and amusing original illustrations. - Photo captions include listing of where famous works of art can be viewed